Netherlands Team Champions of ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier
T20 World Cup

Netherlands beat PNG in final

Media release

Hit For Six!

The Netherlands sealed the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 title with a seven-wicket triumph over Papua New Guinea at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

  • Netherlands beat PNG by seven wickets; Ireland prevail over Namibia to finish third
  • First round groupings for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 are now confirmed
  • Daily round-ups, photographs and videos available on the Online Media Zone for free editorial use

Using a mix of pace and wily orthodox slow bowling, Netherlands’ attack of Brandon Glover (three for 24), Roelof van der Merwe (two for 15) and Timm van der Gugten (two for 18) undid PNG’s batsmen, never allowing them to up the run rate aside from a final over blitz from Jason Kila (27 not out).

Lega Siaka scored 36 but their effort of 128 for eight from 20 overs never looked enough and so it proved when the Dutch batsmen arrived at the crease.

Ben Cooper (41) settled any nerves there may have been with a 33-ball knock of 41, including four fours and two sixes, before Colin Ackermann and Ryan ten Doeschate saw the team home with seven wickets and an over to spare.

Netherlands ended on a score of 134 for three from 19 overs as PNG finished second.

Earlier, Ireland claimed third place with a 27-run win over Namibia, as their bowlers defended a modest total brilliantly.

JJ Smith (three for 19) and Craig Williams (three for 34) claimed three wickets apiece as Ireland’s batsmen struggled, only Andy Balbirnie’s 46 registering as a score of any substance.

However, the spin of Simi Singh (three for 25) and Gareth Delany (two for 23) put the breaks on the

Namibian chase and, despite Gerhard Erasmus’ resistance, Nambia fell to 108 all out in 18.2 overs to finish fourth.

In the final standings of the 14-team tournament, Scotland were in fifth place while Oman claimed the final ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 qualification spot in sixth place.

As a result of the final tournament standings, the first round groupings for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 are now confirmed with PNG, Ireland and Oman in Group A with Sri Lanka. Group B will see the Netherlands, Namibia and Scotland join Bangladesh.

Netherlands beat PNG by seven wickets

Netherlands claimed the title, finishing with a six, as they beat PNG by seven wickets – chasing down their target of 129 in 19 overs.

Brandon Glover’s pace (three for 24) alongside Roelof van der Merwe (two for 15) and Timm van der Gugten’s (two for 18) slower bowling proved too much for PNG’s batsmen, despite a final over blitz with 22 runs coming off it as Lega Siaka top scored with 36 to post a below par score of 128 for eight from 20 overs.

In reply, despite losing Tobias Visee early, Ben Cooper’s 41 from 33 steadied the Dutch innings and kicked it up the gears before Colin Ackermann and Ryan ten Doeschate serenely rounded out the chase with six balls to spare.

Netherlands captain Pieter Seelaar said: “I’m very pleased and very proud of this team. Before we came here we struggled a little bit in Oman and there were a lot of it words said about it but I think we’ve come here and produced some very good cricket.

“The last two times we shared the trophy with Ireland and Scotland and I think deservedly now we’re holding the trophy by ourselves.

“The way Ben [Cooper] batted at the start was very handy and then having Colin [Ackermann] and Tendo [Ryan ten Doeschate] in that period where it was a little bit tougher meant experience came into it and they played very well.

“We have to make sure that in a years’ time we’re very well prepared, there will be a few challenges along the way but I think with the team we’ve got we should be very well placed.”

PNG captain Assad Vala said: “We made our country really proud the way we played all throughout the tournament, it wasn’t to be today but the way we fought all throughout the game – I was really happy.

“The way [Colin] Ackermann and [Ryan] ten Doeschate played, they showed us to bat and it’s something we can learn from.

“Our batting wasn’t up to scratch at this level in the final few games and we’ve got to do a lot to work to get it where we want to be.”

Ireland bowlers squeeze Namibia to win by 27 runs

Ireland’s bowlers starred as Simi Singh (three for 25), Mark Adair (two for nine), Boyd Rankin (two for 17) and Gareth Delany (two for 23) all chipped in to ensure a modest total was defended – Namibia falling short of their target of 136 by 27 runs.

It was the Irish batsmen who lost six wickets for 29 runs in the opening innings to give Namibia strong hopes of ending up victorious, the medium pace of JJ Smit (three for 19) and Craig Williams (three for 34) ensuring Ireland’s batsmen could never really settle despite the best efforts of Andy Balbirnie’s 46.

Ten balls into the reply and Namibia lost Nikolaas Davin before falling to 20 for three inside the Powerplay as Singh and Delany’s spin strangled Gerhard Erasmus’ side into submission, his 51 the only score of note and the only innings to go at more than a run-a-ball – Namibia eventually bowled out for 108 in 18.2 overs.

Ireland captain Gary Wilson said: “I am not sure we were at our complete best through the whole tournament, but that is probably what you are going to get from us at the moment. We are a very inexperienced right the way through the team.

“One day we will be a good side and another day we will be up and down and we have shown that through the tournament, we have won five and lost three and that is reflective of why we are in the third place play-off.

“We were probably not at our best today but it was a pleasing enough performance.

“I think we have come a fair way as a team, we did not rock up here and think this was going to be easy. But we can be satisfied with what we have done, we have qualified for the World Cup, but our goal when we came here was to win the tournament.”

Namibia captain Gerhard Erasmus said: “When we had the winning streak of four games in a row, that is when I felt we could look at all 11 players on field and see the competing nature in their eyes, that is the one thing that stands out for me.

“Going forward we need to broaden the depth of our squads and that is always a challenge in Namibia and we need to get more competition going.

“If we can do that in the next 12 months then the quality of our performances will go up and it will be a real tussle to get into the 15-man squad, not only to go to the World Cup but also into the team.”

Scores in brief:

Ireland beat Namibia by 27 runs, Dubai International Cricket Stadium
Ireland 135, 19.1 overs (Andy Balbirnie 46, Paul Stirling 25; JJ Smit 3-19, Craig Williams 3-34, Zhivago Groenewald 2-20)
Namibia 108, 18.2 overs (Gerhard Erasmus 51, Stephan Baard 17; Simi Singh 3-25, Mark Adair 2-9, Boyd Rankin 2-17, Gareth Delany 2-23)

Netherlands V PNG, Dubai International Cricket Stadium
PNG 128-8, 20 overs (Lega Siaka 36, Sese Bau 29, Jason Kila 27 not out; Brandon Glover 3-24, Roelof van der Merwe 2-15, Timm van der Gugten 2-18)
Netherlands 134-3, 19 overs (Ben Cooper 41, Colin Ackermann 29 not out, Ryan ten Doeschate 28 not out)

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 leading positions:

Winners: Netherlands

2nd: PNG
3rd: Ireland
4th: Namibia
5th: Scotland    
6th: Oman

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 first round groups:

Group A

Sri Lanka

Group B


Four teams from the first round will advance to the Super12s, joining Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and the West Indies.

The complete fixtures are available here

More News