Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Sanju Samson made a long-awaited return to T20I cricket during India's recent series against Sri Lanka

Samson omitted as India name squad for New Zealand tour

India news

India have named a nearly unchanged squad from their recently concluded T20I series with Sri Lanka for their upcoming series in New Zealand, the only exception being the omission of wicket-keeper Sanju Samson.

Samson played only in the final game of India's 2-0 series win, having a largely quiet game. He affected no dismissals with the gloves, and when tasked with maintaining the momentum built by his side's opening partnership Samson scored a six from his first ball before being dismissed by his second.

The named squad will contest five T20Is against New Zealand, beginning in Auckland on Friday 24 January, and finishing in Tauranga on Sunday 2 February. The squad retains all three players vying for the opener spots ahead of this year's ICC Men's T20 World Cup - namely Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul - with India seemingly still deciding on their favoured pair.

SQUAD: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!