Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

ICC ODI Team of the Year announced in London

The ICC today announced its ODI Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd.
25727 dhoni sep12 2011
The ICC today announced its ODI Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd.

The announcement was made at a special function ahead of the LG ICC Awards ceremony which is being held this evening at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London. Presented in association with FICA, the LG ICC Awards recognise the best international players and officials of the past 12 months.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

Virender Sehwag (Ind)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

AB de Villiers (SA)

Shane Watson (Aus)

Yuvraj Singh (Ind)

MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain)

Graeme Swann (Eng)

Umar Gul (Pak)

Dale Steyn (SA)

Zaheer Khan (Ind)

12th Man - Lasith Malinga (SL)

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and just one player - Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India - four years in a row. The ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 winning captain keeps wicket and leads the side and is joined by fellow ICC ODI Team of the Year 2009 members AB de Villiers of South Africa and Shane Watson of Australia.

There are four Indians in the side, all of whom were involved in India?s ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 victory over Sri Lanka in Mumbai in April of the year. Meanwhile Sri Lanka?s Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga, who were all part of the side that lost out to Dhoni?s men in the final on 2 April 2011 at Wankhede Stadium, are selected for the team too.

Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said: "This has been an outstanding year for 50-over cricket. I think everyone saw in the ICC Cricket World Cup how exciting this format can be.

"The ICC Cricket World Cup was rightly applauded as one of the greatest in history and no one who was in Mumbai will forget that remarkable evening.

"The ODI team of the year reflects the success of India with four players selected - Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, M S Dhoni and Zaheer Khan. Yuvraj was, of course, the player of the tournament and MS Dhoni, the man of the match in the final, whilst fellow finalists Sri Lanka has three players in the side."

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, former England captain Mike Gatting, former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South African bowler Paul Adams. Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.

The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up which was announced last month.

The Selection Panel

The LG ICC Awards selection panel was charged with two main tasks: providing a long-list of nominations to the 25 members of the voting academy to cast their votes in the individual player award categories and, using their experience, knowledge and appreciation of the game, select the ICC World Test and ODI teams.

Clive Lloyd (chairman)

One of the most recognisable and respected figures in world cricket, Lloyd captained the West Indies to the first two ICC Cricket World Cups (in 1975 and 1979) and played a crucial role in the overall success of the team during the 1970s and early 1980s. As a big, hard-hitting, left-handed batsman he scored more than 7,500 runs in 110 Tests, including 19 centuries, and was named Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1971. When he retired from playing, he remained involved as a coach, manager and ICC match referee and is currently the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

Paul Adams

Since he broke out on the international scene in 1995, Adams? action formed the subject of a lot of discussion in cricketing circles. After much debate, it was decided that his unique action to deliver what some would call left-arm chinamen could best be described as ?A Frog in a Blender?. He formed a crucial spinning element in an attack dominated by such luminaries as Allan Donald and Shaun Pollock in the 1990s. Adams finally ended his career in 2004 with 134 wickets from his 45 Tests and since then has been working as a coach in Cape Town.

Zaheer Abbas

His appetite for making first-class hundreds earned Zaheer Abbas the sobriquet, the Asian Bradman. His elegant batsmanship marked him out as one of the best of his era, having been one of the few and the only Asian batsman to a century of centuries in first-class history. His successful Test career was also backed up by his excellent time at English County side, Gloucestershire, where he made plenty of runs through his long career with them. Zaheer finally called time on his 16-year career in 1985 with 5,062 runs from 78 Tests. Post retirement, Zaheer has been seen in the role of Pakistan team manager, ICC match-referee and also an expert commentator.

Danny Morrison

Between the retirement of the great Sir Richard Hadlee and the arrival of Shane Bond, Danny Morrison was New Zealand?s best fast bowler. He was the lone strike bowler in an era dominated by medium-pacers in the New Zealand line-up. He was quick and struck regularly with the ball to help New Zealand emerge as one of the sides to watch out for in the one-day international circuit in the early 1990s, especially the ICC Cricket World Cup 1992. Since his retirement in 1997, he is based in Australia, dividing time between doing commentary work across the cricketing world and his family.

Mike Gatting

Making 79 Test appearances, Mike Gatting hit 4,409 runs, including 10 Test centuries, with a highest score of 207, and is remembered as one of the finest England batman. He also made 92 ODI appearances, leading England to the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1987, where it lost to Australia. He now works for the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

Based on the period between 11 August 2010 and 3 August 2011, the LG ICC Awards 2011? presented in association with FICA - take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its eighth year and this year is being held in London. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008), Bengaluru (2010).

More details on the LG ICC Awards can be found by clicking here:

More News

Live Cricket

ICC on Social