Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

India squad announced for the remaining ODIs against Australia

No changes in Indian team for the remaining ODIs against Australia

The Board for Control of Cricket in India announced the ODI squad for the remaining four matches in its home series against Australia on Saturday (October 19). The national selection panel, led by Sandeep Patil, kept the faith, retaining the 15-man squad that currently trails 1-2 in the seven-ODI series.

The matches will be played at Ranchi, Cuttack, Nagpur and Bengaluru on 23 October, 26 October, 30 October and 2 November respectively. 

Australia won the first ODI in Pune by 72 runs, but India hit back strongly in the second ODI in Jaipur, with Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma masterminding a chase of 360 in just 43.3 overs to level the series.

India were in a strong position in the third ODI in Mohali, but with 44 needed off the last three overs, James Faulkner smashed Ishant Sharma for 30 runs in the 48th to ease Australia’s path towards victory.

While there were widespread calls for changes to the squad, with Ishant’s place under scrutiny after below-par returns in all three ODIs, the selectors opted not to make any changes. Ishant has sent down 24 overs for only two wickets, conceding 189 runs in the process. His economy rate of 7.87 is the worst of all India’s specialist bowlers, and his average of 94.5 is only behind Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

India’s squad for the remaining ODIs is:

MS Dhoni (capt, wk), 
Shikhar Dhawan, 
Rohit Sharma, 
Virat Kohli, 
Yuvraj Singh, 
Suresh Raina, 
Ravindra Jadeja, 
R Ashwin, 
Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 
Ishant Sharma, 
R Vinay Kumar, 
Amit Mishra, 
Ambati Rayudu, 
Mohammad Shami, 
Jaydev Unadkat.

More News

Live Cricket

ICC on Social