Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Pakistan name squads for ACC Asia Cup and ICC World T20

Misbah to lead 50-over team, while Hafeez will continue to lead Twenty20 team
Misbah-ul-Haq and Mohammad Hafeez were named as captains of Pakistan’s ACC Asia Cup and ICC World Twenty20 2014 teams respectively when the Pakistan Cricket Board announced the squads for the two events on Friday (February 14).

Irfan Mohammad, who had fractured his hip during Pakistan's series against South Africa last year, has been ruled out of both tournaments due to the recurrence of the injury. 

Opener Fawad Alam, who had last played an ODI in September 2010, and paceman Mohammad Talha, were recalled to the ODI squad for the Asia Cup. 

Wicketkeeper batsman Kamran Akmal, who had last played a T20I for Pakistan in March last year, was given another chance in the shortest format. Shoaib Malik was also named in the World Twenty20 squad after missing the South Africa tour due to injury last year.
Asad Shafiq and Haris Sohail, both, were dropped from the ODI side.
The Asia Cup will be held in Bangladesh between February 25 and March 8, while the World T20 will also be played in Bangladesh, between March 16 and April 6.
The players of the Asia Cup squad will assemble at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore for a four-day training camp starting February 18.
The squads:

ACC Asia Cup:
Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Sharjeel Khan, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Fawad Alam, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti, Mohammad Talha.

ICC World Twenty20: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Gul, Sharjeel Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Junaid Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Zulfiqar Babar, Mohammad Talha, Kamran Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad.

More News

Live Cricket

ICC on Social