Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Test Eden Gardens, Kolkata, India
Sri Lanka
Live Match Commentary Match Highlights
    View Live Match Centre

    India favourite against Sri Lanka as World T20 build-up begins

    Injuries have hit Sri Lanka hard, while, for the host, it’s a chance to give the untested players a run in the middle
     Some exchanges between India and Sri Lanka over the years have lacked context, but the same cannot be said about the three-match Twenty20 International series starting in Pune on Tuesday (February 9).

    The series is important for both sides, as it's a crucial part of their preparations for the ICC World Twenty20 2016 that will be held in India in less than two months' time. The last time these two teams met in the format was in the final of the ICC World T20 2014 in Dhaka. Sri Lanka won the contest then to become the champion in the format for the first time, but a lot has changed over the last two years.

    Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene retired from the format after the historic night in Dhaka, and then from international cricket altogether, pushing Sri Lanka into a tough transitional phase. Sri Lanka has played seven T20Is since then and have won only one.

    The inexperienced batting lineup has been further depleted for this tour, with Angelo Mathews ruled out with a groin strain and Tillakaratne Dilshan not available for the first game because of a hand injury. The ban on Kusal Janith Perera for a doping breach has also added to Sri Lanka's woes.

    The result of all this is that Sri Lanka has a new-look lineup with the likes of Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella and the uncapped Asela Gunaratne. It's up to the relatively experienced Dinesh Chandimal, who will lead the side in Lasith Malinga's absence, Thisara Perera and Chamara Kapugedara to guide the youngsters.

    The bowling attack is also without some big names, the biggest being Malinga, who is still recovering from a knee injury that forced him to miss the tour to New Zealand. Nuwan Kulasekara was also ruled out with an injury, while Binura Fernando suffered an injury during practice on Sunday. Shaminda Eranga has been called up to replace Binura but he's unlikely to be available for the first game.

    The pace attack will, however, have some experience in the form of Dilhara Fernando, the 36 year old who last played for Sri Lanka in 2012 and received a surprise callup after decent performances in the domestic T20 competition to lead the attack that has Kasun Rajitha (uncapped) and Dushmantha Chameera.

    Sachithra Senanayake, the off-spinner, Milinda Siriwardana, the left-arm spinner, and the legspin duo of Seekkuge Prasanna and Jeffrey Vandersay form the slower options.

    India, on the other hand, has announced its squad for the World T20 and looks a settled unit. The team had only the lone practice session on the eve of the game but there is a sense of quiet confidence in the ranks.

    It had a very average 2015 in the format, winning only one of its four matches, but started 2016 in style with a 3-0 whitewash of Australia in Australia. Most of the players are in form but it would want to tick a few boxes as it starts its home run leading to the big tournament.

    The middle order, for example, did not get much batting time in Australia but, with Virat Kohli rested, someone like Yuvraj Singh is likely to get more batting time. It would also be interesting to see if Mahendra Singh Dhoni manages to fit Ajinkya Rahane into the playing XI.

    Only two players in the squad for the Sri Lanka series – Manish Pandey and Bhuvneshwar Kumar – have missed out on World T20 berths but they would know that they are next in line should an injury arise.   

    The series is also an opportunity for India to have a look at Pawan Negi. The all-rounder has had a surreal week, receiving a national call-up and then bagging a whopping Rs 8.5 crore Indian Premier League contract in the space of six days. Negi could have a direct competition with Hardik Pandya for a spot in the XI but with the Pune pitch having a bit of grass on it, he might have to wait for his turn.

    Jasprit Bumrah, who Dhoni called the “find of the Australia tour”, has settled in nicely as has Ashish Nehra upon his return. The spin attack is in the safe hands of R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, with Yuvraj and Suresh Raina doing part-time duty.

    Teams (from)

    India: MS Dhoni (capt, wk), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi.

    Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Seekkuge Prasanna, Milinda Siriwardana, Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedara, Chameera Dushmantha, Dilhara Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Shaminda Eranga, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay.

    More News

    Live Cricket

    ICC on Social