Shai Hope

West Indies drop Shai Hope; Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer return

West Indies Test squad

Hit For Six!

West Indies batsman Shai Hope, whose form in the longest format has fallen off, has been left out of the Test series in New Zealand; while the injured Dwayne Bravo has been ruled out of the T20Is.

Hope, who made waves with twin centuries in a famous Headingley Test win for West Indies in 2017, hasn't quite matched that performance in red-ball cricket. In 22 matches since, Hope scored just 947 runs at an average of 24.28. Most recently, during the tour of England earlier this year, he scored just 105 runs from six innings.

That prolonged slump, combined with the return of Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer, who skipped the tour of England over health concerns, means there was no room left for Hope in the Test squad. But, aged only 26, he has been backed to reverse his fortunes.

"Shai is a player who I think has a tremendous future in Test cricket but at the moment he needs to reorganize his Test match game and get his batting in the longest version, back to its best," said West Indies lead selector Roger Harper.

In addition to Bravo and Hetmyer, all-rounder Keemo Paul, who also opted out of the England tour, returns for the assignment in November-December.

Before the start of the two ICC World Test Championship matches, the sides will face-off in a three-match T20I series. The Kieron Pollard-led outfit will be without the services of star players such as Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis for that contest. Andre Fletcher, who played the last of his 42 T20Is in 2018, has been recalled while uncapped Kyle Mayers has also received a spot.

"Lendl Simmons and Andre Russell are two very experienced T20 players who performed very well on the last tour of Sri Lanka and their absence will surely be noted," said Harper. "However, Andre Fletcher has another opportunity to show us what he can do and what he brings to the table."

Dwayne Bravo, who was initially a part of the T20I squad, was ruled out of the series with a groin injury he suffered in the Indian Premier League 2020. He has been replaced by Romario Shepherd. The 25-year-old Shepherd, who made his international debut last year, has featured in five ODIs and two T20Is so far.

Test squad: Jason Holder (capt), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach
Test Reserves: Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales

T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (capt), Fabian Allen, Romario Shepherd, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams

Proposed schedule
November 27: 1st T20I at Eden Park, Auckland
November 29: 2nd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
November 30: 3rd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
December 3-7: 1st Test at Seddon Park, Hamilton
December 11-15: 2nd Test at Basin Reserve, Wellington

More News