Heinrich Klaasen

Lara Goodall, Heinrich Klaasen awarded South Africa contracts for 2021-22

South Africa news

Hit For Six!

Cricket South Africa have announced their men's and women's national contracts for the 2021-22 season.

The women’s contracts have increased from 14 to 15 players, with Lara Goodall becoming the 15th player to be awarded a national contract after consistent performances in the last couple of seasons.

While the men's list continues to consist of 16 players, keeping the 17th position open, to give players the opportunity to qualify for it through performance. This year Heinrich Klaasen has received his maiden men’s team contract.

“It is a matter of great pride that CSA has increased the number of women’s contracts from 14 to 15 for the very first time,” said Pholetsi Moseki, the CSA Acting Chief Executive. “We are confident that the number of selected players for both the men’s and women’s teams is sufficient to maintain them across the formats in which they participate.

“We are about to enter into a very import cricket season with ICC World Cup events for both the men’s and the women’s teams and we are confident that we have the correct personnel and necessary depth within the system to produce teams that will challenge the best in the world in the coming 12 months,” he added.

Contracted women's players: Dane van Niekerk, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabong Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt.

Contracted men's players: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

More News