Ireland name 15-man squad for CWC Super League ODIs against Netherlands

Ireland News

Hit For Six!

Ireland have included pacer Graeme McCarter, who last represented the side in 2015, in their squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series.

The pacer returns to the squad after having last played an ODI for Ireland in 2014 and having last represented his country in 2015. The squad will be led by their regular skipper Andrew Balbirnie and will also consist of experienced campaigners like William Porterfield, Kevin O'Brien and Paul Stirling. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, four extra players have also been picked to travel with the team to assist with preparations and training. 

On the squad picked, Chairman of the Men's selection committee Andrew White said, "The squad selected, not only rewards form, but provides a group of players that offer Graham Ford and Andrew Balbirnie options on any given match day.

"We have sought to provide continuity with the young players who continue to gain exposure at international level, while still incorporating a number of experienced players whose value around such a squad goes far beyond just their performances on the field."

The three-match ODI series will be crucial for both sides in their bid to seal qualification for the 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, scheduled in India. All the matches will be played in Utrecht beginning from 2 June. 

Squad: Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, Barry McCarthy, Kevin O'Brien, William Porterfield, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Additional Players: Peter Chase, Stephen Doheny, Graham Kennedy, David O'Halloran.

More News