Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

T20 World Cup

Afghanistan name spin-heavy squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup

Afghanistan have included a host of slow-bowling options on naming their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

All ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 squads announced so far – CLICK HERE 

The Afghanistan Cricket Board named their selection on Thursday, 9 September, with the tournament a little over a month away.

Star man Rashid Khan will spearhead the attack, and has been joined by fellow all-rounders Mohammad Nabi and Sharafuddin Ashraf in the squad.

Front-line spinners Qais Ahmad and Mujeeb Ur Rahman are also included in the Afghanistan roster for the tournament.

Afghanistan will get their tournament underway in Sharjah on 25 October against the winners of Group B from the tournament’s first round – one of Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea or Scotland.

Khan and company will also be joined in Group 2 by India, New Zealand and Pakistan, plus the runners-up from the other qualifying pool (either Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands or Sri Lanka).

Afghanistan have won three men’s T20 internationals in their history against the full members of the tournament’s Super 12, out of a total of 14 fixtures. All three of those victories came against the West Indies.

Video cwc19 28 Dec 21
Rashid Khan is the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade

Just minutes after the squad announcement, Khan stepped down as Afghanistan captain, citing a lack of involvement in the squad selection.

“The selection committee and ACB (Afghanistan Cricket Board) has not obtained my consent for the team which has been announced by ACB media,” he said.

“As the captain and responsible person for the nation I reserve the right to be part of the selection of the team.

“I am taking the decision of stepping down from the role as the captain of Afghanistan T20 side effective immediately.”

Squad: Rashid Khan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mohammad Shahzad, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Naveen ul Haq, Hamid Hassan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Qais Ahmad

Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Farid Ahmed Malik

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!