Claire Polosak

Match officials chosen for ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022


Hit For Six!

A blend of youth and experience – the match officials for next month's tournament are named.

A total of eight women have been included among the 15 match officials chosen to adjudicate the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup in New Zealand.

The umpire appointments for the 28 group matches at next month’s 50-over showcase were released on Tuesday, with a number of new faces included alongside some experienced match officials.

Former South Africa allrounder Shandré Fritz will take control of the tournament opener between New Zealand and the West Indies on 4 March, while compatriot Lauren Agenbag will umpire the clash alongside Sharfuddoula Saikat.

Jamaican Jacquline Williams and Afghanistan's Ahmad Shah Pakteen will be in charge of the highly-anticipated clash between Australia and England on 5 March, while Australian umpire Claire Polosak will team up with former Test quick Paul Wilson on 7 March for New Zealand’s clash with Bangladesh in Dunedin.

Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, was pleased with the mixture of youth and experience he was able to name among the umpiring ranks.

“We are proud to announce eight women Match Officials in our team for the tournament," Griffith said.

"We had six women Match Officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and the steady upward path is as per our plans and keeping with our long-term vision.

“But while we have been continuously increasing the number of women officials, there have been no concessions and all of them deserve to be there. 

"The appointments are based on merit, and they have made it to the top level because of their skill and perseverance.

“It is good to have a good mix of experience and it is heartening to note the number of firsts for women officials in recent years. 

"I wish all the Match Officials the very best and am confident that we will have fine adjudication during the tournament.”

The postings for the semi-final stage of the tournament will be announced at the end of the round-robin stage, while a decision as to who takes charge of the final will be made after the semis.

Match Referees: Gary Baxter, GS Lakshmi, Shandré Fritz.

Umpires: Lauren Agenbag, Kim Cotton, Ahmad Shah Pakteen, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Claire Polosak, Suzanne Redfern, Langton Rusere, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid, Eloise Sheridan, Alexander Wharf, Jacqueline Williams, Paul Wilson.

Share Your Thoughts!

Tell us what you think about the T20 Website and App for a chance to win prizes

More News