Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Gaby Lewis

Gaby Lewis set to lead Ireland in white-ball series against South Africa

Ireland news

Hit For Six!

Ireland on Wednesday, 25 May announced a 16-member squad for their mutli-format series against South Africa in Dublin next month.

Lewis will take over the reins of the team in the absence of regular captain Laura Delany, who is currently recovering from an injury. Lewis, just 21, has great experience in international cricket with 88 caps to her name.

In August 2021, Lewis smashed 105* against Germany ICC Women's T20 World Cup Europe Region Qualifier, becoming the first Ireland woman to score a century in any format. For her brilliant performance in 2021, she was a part of ICC Women's T20I Team of Year.

Ireland, however, will be without several of their key players due to injuries and unavailability, meaning as many as four uncapped players – Alana Dalzell, Sarah Forbes, Arlene Kelly and Kate McEvoy – are in contention for their maiden international cap.

Jane Maguire, who has represented Ireland in three ODIs previously, could also make her T20I debut.

Video cwc19 13 Nov 18
WT20 Feature: Gaby Lewis, Ireland's great batting hope

South Africa's tour of Ireland will begin with three T20Is, starting on 3 June, before it moves to the ODI leg between 11-17 June.

Carrie Archer, Chair of National Women’s Selectors, said the series would be an opportunity for the youngster to gain valuable experience against a world-class team. “We will be facing one of the world’s top-ranked teams, and this is our first outing in the ICC Championship.

"While the selectors had met a number of weeks ago to confirm the squad, the further injury to Orla Prendergast forced us to consider options that would maintain our competitiveness on the field.

"As such, despite only recently arriving in Ireland, we have included Arlene Kelly for this series. Arlene brings a wealth of experience and adds depth to the squad as an all-rounder. Her immediate impact upon the Arachas Super Series demonstrated her talent and as an Irish passport-holder she is available to declare for Ireland immediately.

“Despite the challenges, the squad will still feature a number of senior players who have a wealth of experience – Gaby Lewis, Shauna Kavanagh and Mary Waldron have 335 caps between them.

"We wish Gaby and her team the best for the challenge ahead and have no doubt under Ed Joyce’s leadership they will have prepared meticulously.”

Squad: Gaby Lewis (captain), Alana Dalzell, Rachel Delaney, Georgina Dempsey, Sarah Forbes, Shauna Kavanagh, Arlene Kelly, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Kate McEvoy, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Celeste Raack, Mary Waldron.


All T20Is will be played in Pembroke, Dublin with games starting at  4.30 PM local time

1st T20I: 3 June
2nd T20I: 6 June
3rd T20I: 8 June

All ODIs will be played in Clontarf, Dublin with games starting at 10:45 AM local time

1st ODI: 11 June
2nd ODI: 14 June
3rd ODI: 17 June


Crictos official marketplace is now open!

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!