Eoin Morgan and Sam Curran

Two uncapped players included as England name squad for Netherlands ODIs

England news

Hit For Six!

England have announced a 14-member squad for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League series against the Netherlands, starting 17 June.

The uncapped left-arm pace duo of Luke Wood and David Payne have been named in England's squad for the upcoming CWCSL assignment in Amstelveen. 

England currently sit at No.2 in the CWCSL table, only behind Bangladesh with 95 points from 15 matches. The Netherlands are at the bottom of the pile in the standings but have an opportunity to improve their position in the ongoing series against West Indies.

Matthew Mott, the new England Men's white-ball head coach, expressed excitement about working with the side in what will be his first series since taking charge. It's also England's maiden ODI series against Netherlands.

"I'm very excited to be coaching a strong squad for my first series in charge," said Mott. "We have tremendous depth with a blend of youth and experience. We want to continue to play in an expressive style and let our players showcase their skills and firepower.

"Luke Wood deserves his call-up. He has been consistent for Lancashire over the past 12 months and we have been monitoring his progression. If given a chance to play, I'm sure he will make most of his opportunity.

"This is a historic occasion for the sport and the first time England Men have played The Netherlands in an ODI series. We can't wait to head over to Amsterdam and put on a show for the thousands of fans travelling to support the team."

The side will be led by their regular white-ball skipper Eoin Morgan. The ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to be played in India next year, and Mott already has an eye on it.

"The ODI side has had limited opportunities and last played in July," he said. "However, with about 18 months to the next ICC 50 over World Cup in India, our preparation will start ramping up with nine matches over the summer and a busy winter ahead against strong opponents.

England will hope to leapfrog Bangladesh to the top of the CWCSL table, but will need to sweep Netherlands 3-0 if they're to do that. 

Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey and Luke Wood.


1st ODI: 17 June, VRA Cricket Club, Amstelveen
2nd ODI: 19 June, VRA Cricket Club, Amstelveen
3rd ODI: 22 June, VRA Cricket Club, Amstelveen


ICC Crictos official marketplace is now open!

More News