T20 World Cup

England drop white-ball mainstay from T20 World Cup squad

England news

Hit For Six!

England have named their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022, commencing 16 October, in Australia.

After a poor run for his national team and in The Hundred, Jason Roy misses out from the 15-man group, with England preferring Phil Salt, who made his T20I debut earlier this year. Since the last edition of the T20 World Cup in 2021 in the UAE, Roy has featured in 11 T20Is, scoring 206 runs at 18.72.

Salt's selection is a reward for strong domestic form, in the ongoing tournament The Hundred. He is among the top run-getters, currently at No.2 with 313 runs in eight games, averaging 44.71.

Jos Buttler leads the team in his first global tournament as captain, taking over from Eoin Morgan, who retired from international cricket earlier in the year.

Video cwc19 23 Aug 22
Shane Watson selects five players for World T20 XI | ICC Review

Buttler is currently sidelined with a calf injury, meaning Moeen Ali will lead the side for England’s preparatory tour to Pakistan, where they will play Babar Azam’s side in seven T20Is.

England are confident Buttler will regain fitness in the latter stages of the series against Pakistan.

Dawid Malan also earns a recall after performing in England’s recent series against South Africa. The left-hander has a strike rate of 148.27 in T20Is this year, and is the like-for-like replacement for Morgan. He is also the current leading run-scorer of The Hundred with 358 runs at 59.66.

England confirmed that Jonny Bairstow suffered a lower limb injury in a freak accident while playing golf which has ruled him out for the rest of the summer as well as the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia.

On the bowling side, Tymal Mills, who was the leading wicket-taker at last year’s competition up until his tournament-ending injury, has been left out of the main squad but was added as a travelling reserve along with Liam Dawson and Richard Gleeson.

The ECB have confirmed that seamers Mark Wood and Chris Woakes have recovered from their respective injuries and have been named in the 15-strong squad.

The team will aim to better their semi-final finish at last year’s T20 World Cup, and begin the 2022 campaign on 22 October against Afghanistan in Perth.

Video cwc19 01 Nov 21
Jos Buttler: batting brilliance | T20 World Cup

England have named a 19-member squad for the Pakistan tour ahead of the T20 World Cup, featuring five uncapped players: Jordan Cox, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Olly Stone and Luke Wood. 

Their squads for the Australia series are the same as the one they've named for the T20 World Cup.

Video cwc19 01 Nov 21
Buttler blasts tournament's first century | T20 World Cup

Squad for T20 World Cup and T20I series against Australia:
Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood. 

Travel Reserve: Tymal Mills, Liam Dawson, and Richard Gleeson

Squad for Pakistan T20Is:
Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tom Helm, Will, Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, and Mark Wood. 


Feel the buzz in the stands and see the best teams in the world play on the biggest stage of all.

More News