T20 World Cup

Scotland finalise squad for T20 World Cup campaign

Scotland news

Hit For Six!

Scotland have included a key pace duo and an uncapped youngster in their 15-player squad for this year's ICC T20 World Cup in Australia.

Pacers Josh Davey and Brad Wheal impressed during various stages of last year's edition of the tournament in the UAE and have been selected in a strong squad that will be captained by experienced batter Richard Berrington.

                                            >> All the squads for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 <<

Young batter Brandon McMullen also earns a call-up and could earn his first cap during the four-week tournament Down Under, while a trio of key players that featured during Scotland's recent T20I series against New Zealand have missed out on selection.

Experienced seamers Ali Evans and Gavin Main miss out on the final 15, while highly-rated batter Oliver Hairs is also a notable absentee.

The improving Scotland team will rely heavily on Berrington to provide the bulk of their runs, while veteran duo Henry Munsey and Calum MacLeod are also capable of scoring well.

Berrington's experience will be valuable in Scotland's top-order, with the 35-year-old hitting two half centuries and contributing a team-best 177 runs during last year's event.

Video cwc19 20 Oct 21
'Brilliant batter, great human': Scotland's Richie Berrington | T20 World Cup

The right-hander will need to be at his best again this year if Scotland are to progress through to the Super 12 stage, with Berrington's side drawn in Group B of the first round alongside Ireland, Zimbabwe and the West Indies.

On the squad, head coach Shane Burger stated, "We are very pleased and excited to announce our 15 players for the T20 World Cup. We have selected 15 that we believe will make the desired impact we are looking for.

"For those players who are not going to the world cup, we look forward to seeing them challenging for international honours in years to come."

Their first match comes against the Caribbean side at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on October 17, before they take on Ireland in Zimbabwe at the same venue later that same week.

Scotland T20 World Cup squad: Richard Berrington (c), George Munsey, Michael Leask, Bradley Wheal, Chris Sole, Chris Greaves, Safyaan Sharif, Josh Davey, Matthew Cross, Calum MacLeod, Hamza Tahir, Mark Watt, Brandon McMullen, Michael Jones, Craig Wallace.


Visit to collect iconic moments from ICC Cricket history!

More News