Dwaine Pretorius
T20 World Cup

South Africa name replacement for Dwaine Pretorius in T20 World Cup squad

T20 World Cup

Hit For Six!

South Africa all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius has been ruled out of the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup due to an injury he sustained while playing against India in the bilateral T20I series.

Pretorius, who has played an important role with both bat and ball for South Africa in recent years, will miss out on playing in the T20 World Cup after fracturing his left thumb during the recent T20 International series against India.  

Marco Jansen, who was initially named in the reserves, has been announced as the replacement in the 15-player squad that will travel to Australia for the T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, Lizaad Williams has been called up to replace Jansen amongst the travelling reserves.

Video cwc19 07 Jun 22
Jayawardena hails Jansen as ‘the complete package’ | The ICC Review

Pretorius had an impressive run in the previous edition of the T20 World Cup, finishing as South Africa’s joint-highest wicket-taker (nine) with the best bowling average (11.22) of the lot. Despite having played only one T20I, Jansen has been entrusted with filling the void of taking the death-bowling duties left behind by Pretorius.

South Africa will play their opening contest of the T20 World Cup on 24 October against the winner of Qualifier B1 at Hobart. Before the tournament kicks off, they will play two warm-up games -- against New Zealand on 17 October and Bangladesh on 19 October, both at Brisbane.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen. Standby Players: Bjorn Fortuin, Lizaad Williams, Andile Phehlukwayo.

Video cwc19 06 Oct 22
The brand new T20 World Cup 2022 app!


Feel the buzz in the stands and see the best teams in the world play on the biggest stage of all.

More News