World Test Championship

Ponting provides thoughts on Cameron Green catch

World Test Championship

By Jonathan Healy at The Oval

Hit For Six!

ICC Hall of Famer Ricky Ponting has revealed his thoughts on the Cameron Green catch that saw Shubman Gill dismissed at a crucial stage of the ICC World Test Championship Final on day four.

Gill was given out by TV umpire Richard Kettleborough on the stroke of tea on the fourth day of an enthralling contest at The Oval after India made a bright start to their run chase, with 444 needed for victory.

Pacer Scott Boland found the edge of Gill's bat and Green dived to his left in his favoured gully position to complete the catch, but debate has opened up in the cricket world on whether the Australia all-rounder had successfully got his hands under the ball and controlled it.

Video World Test Championship 11 Jun 23
Ponting on Cameron Green's catch and recent change to soft signals | WTC23 Final | Byju's
Ricky Ponting discusses Cameron Green's catch and the recent change to soft signal decisions | WTC23 Final | Byju's

Green immediately started celebrating the superb grab with his teammates and Ponting said soon after the right call was made to send Gill on his way.

"When I saw it live, I knew it had carried to him on the full, but I wasn’t sure what the action was after that from all replays we have seen," Ponting told the ICC.

"I actually think some part of the ball did touch the ground and it is the interpretation of the umpire that as long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before the ball hits the ground then it is out.

"That must have been what the umpires’ interpretation was and I think that is exactly what happened.

"It carried probably six or eight inches off the ground then there was another action after that."

Video World Test Championship 10 Jun 23
Wicket! TV umpire rules catch as Green stunner removes Gill | WTC23 Final
Cameron Green took a low catch to send back Shubman Gill as India lost their first wicket of the second innings at the stroke of Tea.

Ponting expects the catch to be widely discussed after play and beyond, and that opinions will continue to be divided.

"There will be a lot of talk about it I am sure and there will probably be more talk in India than in Australia," Ponting suggested.

"Everyone in India will think it is not out and everyone in Australia will think it is out."

Video World Test Championship 10 Jun 23
India lose Gill in the quest for 444 | Day 4, Session 2 Highlights | WTC23 Final
India lost the wicket of Shubman Gill after Australia set them a huge target of 444 in the second session on Day 4 of the World Test Championship 2023 Final.

The decision made by Kettleborough was made following a recent change to rules relating to the soft signal made by onfield umpires, which has been removed from the game.

The one-off Test in south London is just the second Test match played under the new regulations that don’t require the onfield umpires to provide their input and Ponting believes this would not have influenced the decision made by the experienced official.

"If it had have been given out on the field then I think the third umpire has to find conclusive evidence to overturn that decision and I don’t think there would have been conclusive evidence," Ponting said.

"The reason I am saying that is, even without the soft signal, the third umpire thought it was out.

"At the end of the day I think the correct decision has probably been made."

And Ponting thinks the decision by the ICC to remove the ability for onfield umpires to give a soft signal was one that is ultimately good for the game.

"I was happy for that soft signal to be taken out of the game...I think there was too many of those that seemed irrelevant," Ponting added.

"Everyone will say now that without the soft signal it is going to what technology can see and technology can provide, but at the end of the day it is still the third umpire making the decision on what he can see."


More News