Liton Das

Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain recalled to ODI squad

Bangladesh news

Hit For Six!

Four uncapped players named in Bangladesh’s 16-member squad for three-match series in the Caribbean.

There were four uncapped players and two recalled members in Bangladesh’s 16-man squad for the three-match one-day international series in the West Indies later this month.

Veteran all-rounder Mashrafe Mortaza will lead the squad, which includes Nazmul Hossain, Nazmul Islam, Abu Hider and Abu Jayed, who have never played ODI cricket.

Hossain is a left-hand batsman who has played one Test match, while left-arm spinner Islam, left-arm medium pacer Hider, and Jayed, the right-arm pacer, have all played Twenty20 International cricket in the past.

Recalled, meanwhile, were Liton Das, the 23-year-old wicket-keeper batsman who has played eight Tests, 12 ODIs and 12 T20Is, and Mosaddek Hossain, the 22-year-old all-rounder who has also played all three formats for Bangladesh.

Mashrafe Mortaza will lead Bangladesh in the three-match series
Mashrafe Mortaza will lead Bangladesh in the three-match series

Dropped from the squad that took on Sri Lanka at home earlier this year were Imrul Kayes, Nurul Hasan and Taskin Ahmed, while Mustafizur Rahman, who was nursing an injury sustained during the 2018 Indian Premier League, was passed fit to be a part of the set-up.

Bangladesh will start a two-Test series against the Windies on Wednesday, 4 July, before playing the ODI series, which will be followed by a series of three T20Is.

Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Hoque, Litton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Nazmul Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Haider, Abu Jayed

22 July: First ODI at Guyana National Stadium, Guyana
25 July: Second ODI at Guyana National Stadium, Guyana
28 July: Third ODI at Warner Park, St Kitts

More News