Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Players of Ghana celebrate after getting a breakthrough

Ghana and Nigeria to take part in expanded Africa T20 Cup

Africa news

In what will be the fourth edition of the Africa T20 Cup, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced that there will be 20 teams in contention.

Of the 20 participating teams are 12 CSA Affiliates, three Associate Members and the five guest African countries. They have been drawn into four pools of five each, with the winners of each group advancing through to the semi-finals. Ghana and Nigeria join Kenya, Namibia and Zimbabwe as the guest nations, while the Mpumalanga and Limpopo provincial sides complete the line-up for the 2018 tournament.  

Corrie van Zyl, CSA General Manager, hailed the current four-year longevity of the Africa T20 Cup and was full of praise for the expansion.

“This being the fourth edition, this competition has grown tremendously,” he commented.

“The objectives that were set at the start have been met, over and over. What also makes this year very exciting about this fourth edition is that we are expanding the Africa T20 Cup. Not just for our local teams but also for the teams in Africa.

“We wanted to expand the competition to 20 teams, so this gave us a chance to increase the opportunities for the African countries as well as give two more South African provinces in Mpumalanga and Limpopo an opportunity. So, with the expansion to 20 teams, it afforded us to have both objectives reached."

Last year, KwaZulu Natal Inland topped their group before going on to win the tournament, triumphing over Free State in the final.

ICC Africa Development Officer Justine Ligyalingi was thrilled with the tournament's evolution.

“We as ICC Africa are delighted that the members are being given the opportunity to participate in this fourth edition of the Africa T20 and this time with more slots,” she said.

“This event provides big opportunities for our members to be exposed to playing cricket at the higher level. We do not have many of these opportunities and through such engagements, our members are going to try and work hard to grow the game within their countries."

The competition will take place over two jam-packed weekends of cricket from 14-16 and 23-24 September. 

Draw Result:

Pool A (Pietermaritzburg)

KwaZulu Natal Inland
Western Province
KwaZulu-Natal Coastal

Pool B (Oudtshoorn)

South Western Districts
Free State

Pool C (East London)

Eastern Province

Pool D (Paarl)

North West
Northern Cape

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!