ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Changes approved to Ireland, Afghanistan and Canada squad

The ICC Event Technical Committee has agreed to changes to be made to the Ireland, Afghanistan and Canada teams

Changes approved to Ireland, Afghanistan and Canada squad
 - Cricket News
Gary Wilson's inclusion should come as a relief to Ireland.
Ireland were given a late boost this evening when the ICC Event Technical Committee agreed that Surrey wicket-keeper Gary Wilson could be added to their ICup squad for the clash with Afghanistan at Rathmines (11am).

Wilson has been in prolific form for both county and country in 2012, and his experience will bolster the team for the crucial encounter with the defending champions Afghanistan.

Ireland currently top the table with 54 points from three games, with Afghanistan having 37 points.

Meanwhile, the technical committee also approved a change in the Afghanistan side. Najieebullah Zadran will replace Shabir Ahmed Noori.

Canada's replacements for the Pepsi ICC WCL Championship matches against Scotland have also been approved. Darren Ramsammy, Zahid Hussain and Manninder Aulakh will come in for Henry Osinde, Parth Desai and Rizwan Cheema.

The Irish squad in full is as follows:

Kevin O'Brien (capt) (Somerset)
John Anderson (Merrion)
Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke)
Alex Cusack (Clontarf)
Trent Johnston (YMCA)
Rory McCann (Instonians)
John Mooney (North County)
Paul Stirling (Middlesex)
Max Sorensen (The Hills)
Stuart Thompson (Limavady)
Albert Van der Merwe (YMCA)
Andrew White (Instonians)
Gary Wilson (Surrey)
Ben Wylie (Instonians)

Similar Articles