ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

​Australia takes sole lead in the ICC Women’s championship

India’s clean sweep against Sri Lanka helps it move up two spots to fifth on the championship ladder

​Australia takes sole lead in the ICC Women’s championship - Cricket News
Australia now has two rounds of matches remaining, which will be again South Africa and Sri Lanka.

India’s clean sweep against Sri Lanka helps it move up two spots to fifth on the championship ladder


South Africa holds on to fourth spot despite losing series to England and West Indies


West Indies’ 2-1 win over South Africa consolidates its second position


Australia’s Lanning and Jonassen lead run-scorers and wicket-takers charts, respectively

The ICC Women’s Championship has a clear leader in world champion Australia after an exciting month of one-day cricket, which featured seven of the eight sides in the competition.
Australia, which will be aiming for its fourth straight ICC Women’s World Twenty20 title in India later this month, entered the latest round of matches as Championship co-leaders with the West Indies.
But two series wins against India and New Zealand has helped it to break-away from the Caribbean side, which is now trailing by four points.
Australia beat India and New Zealand by an identical 2-1 margin to earn eight out of a possible 12 points on offer. Meg Lannings’s side came from a match down to beat New Zealand and retain the Rose bowl title for the 14th time.
Australia now has two rounds of matches remaining, which will be again South Africa and Sri Lanka.
West Indies, meanwhile, has secured second position with a 2-1 win over South Africa. The Caribbean side’s remaining two series are against fifth-placed India and sixth-placed England.

The Proteas hold on to fourth spot in the Championship table despite losing both outings against England and the West Indies.
The significance of the ICC Women’s Championship lies in the fact that it is a qualifying tournament for the ICC Women’s World Cup July 2017. The top four sides from the ICC Women’s Championship will obtain automatic qualification for the event proper to be staged in England, while the bottom four sides will get a final chance of qualification through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier earlier in 2017.
Leader Australia seems certain to make the cut for qualification, along with the West Indies. The bottom two sides Pakistan and Sri Lanka, in contrast, will have to run a very tough race if they want to move back in contention. In the middle of the table, New Zealand, South Africa, England and India are neck and neck in a battle for the other two World Cup qualification spots.

Sixth-placed England has three games in hand, giving it the upper hand as well as a very strong chance to finish inside the top four. England’s next three rounds will feature contests against Sri Lanka, Pakistan and the West Indies.
India, meanwhile, was impressive against Australia, pulling one game back against the top-ranked side in an away series. This was followed by a three-nil series win against Sri Lanka at home, allowing the Asian team to move up the rankings from seventh to fifth. Nevertheless, Mithali Raj’s side is still not assured of a World Cup qualification.

India will need to win both its final two rounds against the West Indies and Pakistan to put pressure on the other leading contenders.
The ICC Women’s Championship is back in action in June when Pakistan will travel to England and South Africa will host New Zealand.
Following is the schedule of forthcoming matches in ICC Women’s Championship:
England vs Pakistan
20 June  – 1st ODI, Grace Road, Leicester
22 June – 2nd ODI, County Ground, Derby 
27 June – 3rd ODI, County Ground, Derby 

South Africa vs New Zealand

8 Oct – 1st ODI, Diamond Oval, Kimberley

11 Oct – 2nd ODI, Diamond Oval, Kimberley

13 Oct – 3rd ODI, Diamond Oval, Kimberley

ICC Women’s Championship 2014 – 2016
Teams P W L Tie N/R Points NRR
Australia 15 12 3 0 0 24 +0.745
West Indies 15 10 5 0 0 20 +0.497
New Zealand 15 8 7 0 0 16 +0.232
South Africa 15 7 7 0 1 15 -0.069
India 15 6 8 0 1 13 +0.008
England 12 6 5 0 1 13 -0.022
Pakistan 12 4 8 0 0 8 -0.386
Sri Lanka 15 2 12 0 1 5 -1.152
Note – two points for a win, no point for a loss and one point for a no-result

Similar Articles