Ireland Scotland

‘Euro T20 Slam’ – Name of the new European T20 league confirmed

T20, news

Hit For Six!

The new European T20 competition set to take place in Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands for the first time later this year has been officially named as the ‘Euro T20 Slam.’

The competition, formally unveiled earlier in 2019, is to consist of six city-based franchise teams, two from each of the host nations. Set to take place from 30 August to 22 September, the tournament is expected to feature 33 matches in total. 

Restrictions over the make-up of the respective squads and playing XIs have also been confirmed. Each franchise must have a minimum of nine domestic players and a maximum of seven overseas players in their squads, while each franchise must field a minimum of six domestic players in their respective playing XIs.

Commenting on the announcement, Warren Deutrom, Chief Executive of Cricket Ireland, said:“The process wasn’t just about establishing a mere name, but rather giving the tournament an identity which both aligned it with other global domestic leagues, yet made it a distinctive and a vibrant brand.

“It was important to us to convey our points of difference that would resonate in local markets – in Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands – where cricket is not the dominant sport in town. The touch points of geography, cricket and excitement was our goal, and we hope it will gain the necessary traction with fans.”

More News