Georgia Wareham included in Australia's 2019-20 contracts list

Australia Women news

Hit For Six!

Georgia Wareham, the 19-year-old leg-spinner, was the only new name in Cricket Australia's contracted list of players for 2019-20, announced on Thursday, 4 April.

Wareham, who made her international debut in September 2018 and became an integral part of the Australia Women squad, had been elevated to a contract late last year, but she now has been offered her first full contract.

It comes as a validation of her performances, which have given her 18 wickets in 17 limited-overs matches. Those include 2/11 in the ICC Women's World T20 2018 final, when Australia beat England in the West Indies for the title. She also won the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year award in February for her breakthrough season.

Video cwc19 25 Nov 18
AUS v ENG: 'It's pretty unreal' – Georgia Wareham

Missing out from last year's list is Amanda-Jade Wellington, the leg-spinner. She has, however, been included in the 14-player National Performance Squad, made up of promising young players who will train under Leah Poulton, the high performance coach. Apart from Wellington, Tahlia McGrath, Lauren Cheatle and Belinda Vakarewa are the internationals on the NPS.

“Overall, there has been minimal change in the CA Contract list, which we believe is a good sign leading into a very important year with the Ashes and a home T20 World Cup," said Shawn Flegler, the national selector.

Speaking of the contenders waiting to be elevated to a full contract, Flegler added,“Amanda-Jade is aware of what she needs to improve to put herself back in contention for selection, and her first opportunity is through the NPS [programme].

“Tayla Vlaeminck and Lauren Cheatle both played games for Australia last summer and, like all players in the domestic system, are eligible for an upgrade contract should they force their way into the Australian team over the coming season.”

2019-20 CA women's contracts: Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jessica Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Meg Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Georgia Wareham.

2019 women's National Performance Squad: Maitlan Brown, Lauren Cheatle, Maddy Darke, Josie Dooley, Nicole Fultum, Heather Graham, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Annabel Sutherland, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa, Tayla Vlaeminck, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tahlia Wilson.

More News