Mount Maunganui 2

Mount Maunganui set to become New Zealand's ninth Test venue

New Zealand news

Hit For Six!

Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui will host the first of the two Tests against England in November 2019, thereby becoming the ninth Test venue in New Zealand.

Announcing the team's packed season which starts in November 2019, New Zealand Cricket confirmed on Friday that the Blackcaps will play 13 Twenty20 internationals, three one-day internationals and four Tests at home against England, India and Australia. The women's team will also clash against South Africa in the 2019-20 season, which starts from 1 November.

New Zealand will begin their season with first game of the five-match T20I series against England on 1 November. A two-match Test series will follow, the first of which will be hosted by Mount Maunganui's Bay Oval. Having hosted its first ever ODI in January 2018, the Bay Oval has hosted a total of fifteen international limited overs games since, including two ODIs and a T20I against India earlier this year.

"They've really come to the party, Eden Park. They looked at their cost structures and it's a lot more cost effective for us to play there. It really works for both of us," NZC CEO David White said.

After hosting England in the second Test in Hamilton, New Zealand will travel to Australia for a three-match Test series which will include the traditional Boxing Day and New Year Tests in Melbourne and Sydney respectively. The Black Caps will then host India for a month-long action beginning from 24 January which includes five T20Is, three ODIs and a two-match Test series.

New Zealand will again fly out to Australia for the three-match Chappell-Hadlee ODI series in Sydney (March 13 and 15) and Hobart (March 20), before they play the same opposition in three T20Is at home, beginning from 24 March.

New Zealand Women's team will host South Africa for a three-match ODI series and five T20I's from 24 January. The Bay Oval will also host the first match of the T20 series, which serve as a preparation for both the teams for the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia.

More News