Scotland celebrate a wicket.

Scotland name 14-man squad for Men's CWC League 2 in UAE

Scotland news

Hit For Six!

Scotland have announced their squad for the third round of the ICC Cricket World Cup League Two, which will see them take on both USA and UAE in Sharjah and Dubai.

Scotland will return to the UAE in December having achieved qualification for next year’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup there last month.

On the announcement of the squad, head coach Shane Burger said: “We have picked a squad that has a blend of both youth and experience. Our focus will be looking to be successful as well as having an eye on the future of Scottish cricket.

“It will be a great challenge returning to the UAE and we have a good feel of the conditions and grounds we will be playing at, having just returned from our successful ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier campaign.

“The Cricket World Cup League Two journey is a long and exciting one that presents us with an opportunity of qualifying for a 50 over World Cup.”

Michael Leask, Oliver Hairs, Adrian Neill and Tom Sole have been omitted from the squad that finished fifth at the Qualifier, with Dylan Budge, Michael Jones and Stuart Whittingham included.

Scotland's first fixture will see them take on USA at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on December 9 before they take on UAE two days later at the same venue. They will face USA again on December 14 at ICC Academy Oval 1 in Dubai before finishing the tour against UAE the next day at the same venue. 

Squad: Kyle Coetzer (c), Richie Berrington, Dylan Budge, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Michael Jones, Calum MacLeod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Stuart Whittingham

More News