Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka announce 16-man squad for historic Test tour of Pakistan

Sri Lanka news

Hit For Six!

The Dimuth Karunaratne-led side will play Pakistan in two games in Rawalpindi and Karachi – the first instance of Test cricket in the country since 2009.

Sri Lanka have named a familiar looking squad, the only change from the one that played New Zealand in August being the inclusion of fast bowler Kasun Rajitha in place of spinner Akila Dananjaya, who has been banned for 12 months due to an illegal action.

The 26-year-old Rajitha has played six Tests to date and has picked up 23 wickets at 29.56. He was the second-highest wicket-taker from either side when Sri Lanka registered a historic 2-0 Test series win in South Africa earlier this year. He will be part of a four-man pace attack, also featuring Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando and Suranga Lakmal.

This series will mark the return of Test cricket to Pakistan after 10 years. Sri Lanka were the last team to play Tests there, in 2009, when their tour was cut short by an attack on the team bus. Their return to play red-ball cricket in the country thus holds significance.

The first match will be played in Rawalpindi, starting 11 December, and the second in Karachi from 19 December. The two Tests will be part of the ICC Men's World Test Championship.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Janith Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!