T20 World Cup

Molineux, Sutherland named in Australia T20 World Cup squad

Australia Women news

Hit For Six!

Australia have announced their squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, with Sophie Molineux and Annabel Sutherland both included.

Molineux took a break from the game during this season’s WBBL for mental health reasons but is available for the tournament and is joined by the uncapped Sutherland, a pace-bowling all-rounder.

The same squad will contest a tri-series with England and India to shore up their preparations for the World Cup campaign, which will see them look to defend the title on home soil.

They will face India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and New Zealand in the pool rounds of the tournament and aim to reach the final at Melbourne Cricket Ground, to be held on 8 March. 

Want to be part of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup? Tickets are on sale now!

On the selection of the squad, national selector Shawn Flegler said: “We’ve had a really stable squad over the last few years and having players such as Molly Strano, Tahlia McGrath, Belinda Vakarewa and Heather Graham miss out illustrates the depth of Australian Cricket. All four of these players are really unlucky to miss out but at the same time could come into the side at any stage and play a role.

“We’re really pleased for Annabel Sutherland, who has been playing domestic cricket for a few years now, as well as being a part of Australia A and Under 19 sides. She has progressed significantly over the past few months. Anyone who has seen her play will know how special a talent she is, and we know that if called upon she’ll be able to play a variety of roles in the side. This will be another terrific experience for someone who we see as the future of Australian Cricket.

“It’s also really pleasing to welcome Sophie Molineux back into the side, having spent some time out of the game for mental health reasons and getting her shoulder right. She was part of the side that won the 2018 World Cup and is a multi-skilled player that offers us another left-arm spinning option alongside Jess Jonassen.

“Sophie made herself available for both tours and we’ll continue to manage her health as we go along. Her health is our number one priority.”

Australia's T20 World Cup squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

Australia's ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 fixtures


February 15 vs West Indies at Allan Border Field

February 18 vs South Africa at Karen Rolton Oval


February 21 vs India at Sydney Showgrounds

February 24 vs Sri Lanka at The WACA Ground

February 27 vs Bangladesh at Manuka Oval

March 2 vs New Zealand at Junction Oval


March 5 Semi-finals SCG

March 8 Final MCG

More News