Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

India NZ

KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer star after bowlers outclass New Zealand

NZ v Ind, 2nd T20I, report

A brilliant bowling performance from India was complemented by KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer's batting exploits, which saw the visitors ease to a seven-wicket victory in the second T20I against New Zealand.


Rahul was sensational with the bat at Eden Park, scoring a measured 57* from 50 balls – his second consecutive fifty of the series, while Iyer contributed with an important 33-ball 44, helping India chase down New Zealand's 132/5 with 15 balls to spare.

With this victory, India have taken a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

Opting to bat, New Zealand's openers Martin Guptill (33 off 20) and Colin Munro (26 off 25) provided their side a solid foundation with a 48-run stand inside the Power Play, however, the hosts lost Guptill on the last ball of the sixth over when he was caught at mid-off by India skipper Virat Kohli.

Soon after, New Zealand lost Munro, caught by Kohli who took a diving catch near extra cover, reducing the hosts to 68/2 in the ninth over. Colin de Grandhomme, who fell for a duck in the previous game, once again failed to provide resistance. He was caught and bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for three.

The spinner struck again in his second over, snaring the big wicket of New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who fell cheaply this time for 14. 

Ross Taylor was then joined by wicket-keeper batsman Tim Seifert, and together the pair steadied the proceedings. However, India bowled exceptionally well at the death, giving away only 23 runs in the last four overs. Taylor was dismissed in the final over for 18 while Seifert remained unbeaten on 33.

Chasing a paltry 133, India lost Rohit Sharma (8) and Kohli (11) inside the first six overs. Iyer then joined forces with Rahul, and the duo shared a crucial 86-run partnership. Iyer was sent back on the third ball of the 17th over, but it was too late by then for New Zealand to make a comeback. Shivam Dube finished off the game in style for India in the next over with a six over long-on.

The third T20I will be played at Seddon Park on Wednesday, 29 January.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!