Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!


Bonner, Holder get call-ups for England tour

Eng v WI, Test series, news

Nkrumah Bonner and Chemar Holder, both uncapped at Test level, are part of the 14-man West Indies squad, which is expected to land in England on June 9.

Chemar Holder, unrelated to Test captain Jason, is a fast bowler of immense promise, having picked up 36 wickets at 18.91 in the recent West Indies Championship. Bonner, 31, brings experience to the table with close to 70 first-class games under his belt. He made 523 runs in seven matches at an average of 58.11 in the 2020 Championship. He has previously represented West Indies in two T20Is.

In the wake of the pandemic, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo and Keemo Paul have opted out of taking the trip to England, a decision Cricket West Indies have said they respect and will not hold against the players when it comes to future squad selections. West Indies have also named an 11-man list of reserves who will travel with the squad. This group includes Shannon Gabriel who has been named alongside the likes of Sunil Ambris and Oshane Thomas. Meanwhile, Jermaine Blackwood is set to return to the squad.

The Jason Holder-led squad is set to board private charter flights on June 8 after undergoing testing for COVID-19. They will land in Manchester, where they will train for three weeks under strict bio-secure measures. The measures will continue to remain in place throughout the series and the three Tests, scheduled to start on 8 July will be played behind closed doors as part of the precautions.

West Indies squad: Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Chemar Holder, Jason Holder (c), Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach

Reserve players: Sunil Ambris, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!