Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!


Trio recalled for West Indies ODIs against Australia

West Indies news

Hit For Six!

Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, and Roston Chase have been brought into the West Indies' 15-man ODI squad to take on Australia in Super League action.

Beefing up their squad with the three experienced internationals, all-rounder Kyle Mayers and spinner Kevin Sinclair are the two players left out from the previous West Indies ODI squad that took on Sri Lanka at home in March. 

The West Indies are wedged in seventh spot on the ICC Men's Cricket Super League standings (powered by MRF Tyres), and a strong home showing against Australia will go a long way to automatic qualification for the 2023 ICC World Cup in India. They were too strong for Sri Lanka, chasing targets of 233, 274 and 275, but dropped all three matches on their trip to Bangladesh, and watched their opponents rocket up the table.

Cottrell and Chase have not appeared in ODI cricket since the team's tour of Sri Lanka last year, while Hetmyer's last ODI appearance was 18 months ago against Ireland.

Lead Selector of the West Indies Roger Harper says the inclusion of the trio should cover all team needs when taking on the might of Australia in Bridgetown.

“This squad is coming off a comprehensive series win against Sri Lanka which should boost their confidence going into what is expected to be a tougher contest against Australia. The return of Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase and Sheldon Cottrell adds greater depth and experience to the squad.

“Playing in familiar home conditions, hopefully will bring out the best in each player thereby enabling the team to perform at a consistently high standard."

The West Indies are currently in Saint Lucia to take on Australia in five T20Is before travelling to Barbados to contest the ODI series at Kensington Oval.

Squad: Kieron Pollard (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice Captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder , Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Anderson Philip, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!