England 2017 Women's World Cup

Prize money for 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup announced


Hit For Six!

The ICC has announced the overall prize money pot for the 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup which will be played in New Zealand between March 4 to April 3.

Every ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022 squad

The winners of the tournament will take home a prize money of $1.32 million, which is double the amount that was awarded to the victors of the 2017 edition in England. 

The overall prize money pot has also seen an increase of 75%, with the eight teams taking home a share of $3.5 million which is $1.5 million more than the previous edition. 

The runners-up will now be awarded a sum of $600,000, $270,000 more than India were rewarded in 2017 for finishing as runners-up to England in 2017 at Lord's.

The two losing semi-finalists will earn $300,000 each while the four teams who exit at the group stages will be awarded a sum of $70,000 – up from the $30,000 prize from the previous edition. 

Every group stage win will also earn the teams a reward of $25,000 per victory from a total pot of $700,000. 

Video cwc19 19 Apr 18
#WWC17 Final: England v India match highlights

This marks an increase in the prize money during the Women's Cricket World Cup for consecutive editions. The prize money between the 2013 and the 2017 edition witnessed a tenfold increase, going up from $200,000 to $2 million. England who were crowned the champions on their home turf took home a reward of $660,000 after beating India by nine runs to claim their fourth title.

In the 2022 edition, a total of 28 group stages matches will be played in a round-robin format, with each team playing each other once. The four sides with the most points will then advance to the semis. A victory will earn each other two points while a draw, a tie or a no-result will see them walk away with a single point. 

The matches will be played across six venues with the tournament opener taking place between hosts New Zealand and West Indies at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui. The final will be played at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on April 3. 

Share Your Thoughts!

Tell us what you think about the T20 Website and App for a chance to win prizes


More News