Australia squad named in historic Commonwealth Games campaign

Australia Women's news

Hit For Six!

After their barnstorming ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022 victory, Australia have named the same squad for the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, as well as their T20I tri-series with Ireland and Pakistan.

The tri-series at the Bready Cricket Club in Northern Ireland provides the ideal preparation for Meg Lanning's side, under interim head coach Shelley Nitschke.

A key member of Australia's staff, Nitschke steps up after the departure of Matthew Mott, who takes the role as England men's white-ball coach.

Continuity is key in Australia's player stocks though, and the side are strong favourites to add to their trophy collection.

Video CWC22 02 Apr 22
The ruthless Australian side | CWC22

After 50-over domination in New Zealand, Lanning's side are also T20 World Cup champions, and come off recent series wins in the format over rivals England and India.

Outside of the squad, Tayla Vlaeminck (knee) and Georgia Wareham (ankle) continue their injury rehabilitation, though both are unlikely to feature for most of the Australian summer later this year.

Video CWC22 03 Apr 22
Australia lift the Women's World Cup trophy

Whilst picked in the squad, Ellyse Perry is yet to fully recover from stress fractures in her lower back, and is expected to play solely as a batter on the tour. Her availability to bowl will be "dependent on her progress in the coming weeks and on the medical advice" according to team physio, Kate Beerworth.

Australia's Commonwealth Games Squad: Meg Lanning (C), Rachael Haynes (VC), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Australia's T20I Tri-Series Fixtures
16 July, 4pm, Australia v Pakistan
17 July, 4pm, Ireland v Australia
21 July, 4pm, Ireland v Australia
23 July, 4pm, Pakistan v Australia

All matches at the Bready Cricket Club, Derry, Northern Ireland.

Australia's Commonwealth Games Group Fixtures
29 July: Australia v India
31 July: Barbados v Australia
3 August: Australia v Pakistan

All matches at Edgbaston, Birmingham


Crictos official marketplace is now open!


More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!