Fran Jonas

ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup Qualification Pathway announced

Women's U19T20WC

Hit For Six!

The first ever ICC Under-19 Women's T20 World Cup will take place in South Africa from January 2023. The qualification process for the tournament begins on 3 June.

The World Cup, which was initially set to take place in 2021, was delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic and rescheduled for January 2023. It will act as a curtain-raiser for the ICC Women's T20 World Cup, which will also be hosted by South Africa in February 2023.

The ICC Women's Under-19 T20 World Cup – All you need to know
The ICC Women's Under-19 T20 World Cup – All you need to know

The U19 Women's T20 World Cup event will be a 16-team affair with 11 full member nations – Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe.

Out of the five remaining spots, four will be determined by regional Qualifiers, while the fifth spot has been automatically awarded to the USA on account of the side being the only Associate nation eligible to compete under the ICC’s Event Pathway Participation Criteria in the Americas region.

This tournament will offer young women across the globe a chance to showcase their mettle, and will drive the growth and popularity of women's cricket.

"We are thrilled to be able to support the development of young female players by holding the U19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa on the eve of the senior event," said ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley.

"The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup has been the stepping stone for so many of the world’s best male players, so we are excited to see how the inaugural U19 women’s edition will drive the growth of women’s cricket and improve the number of elite international playing opportunities for females at this age group in the years to come."

Video cwc19 28 May 22
"Really hoping UAE play the T20 World Cup. We are working towards it" | Fairbreak

As many as 19 teams will battle it out for the four qualification spots across Asia, Europe, East Asia-Pacific (EAP) and Africa, with the process starting with the Asia Qualifier in Malaysia from 3 to 9 June.

Six teams will compete in the Asia Qualifier – Bhutan, Malaysia, Nepal, Thailand, Qatar, UAE – playing 15 matches, with the winner confirming a place at the main event.

Asia Regional Development Manager Aminul Islam said he was looking forward to the Qualifier in his region, and believes it will be an effective tool in identifying upcoming talent. 

“We are embarking on a very exciting journey where we will see some of the most exciting young female talent in Asia competing in Malaysia next week," he said.

"The participating teams are all hopeful of making history by competing at the first-ever ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup, and there’s no question we’ll see some excellent cricket take place to determine who qualifies. As part of the ICC Asia event legacy there will be an opportunity for participants to attend high-performance seminar during the tournament.

“I would like to thank the Malaysia Cricket Association for their support in hosting this landmark event," Islam added.

Two teams will play the EAP (Indonesia, PNG) and Europe (Netherlands, Scotland) Qualifiers in July and August respectively, and nine teams will battle it out to become the Africa Champions in Botswana in September.

Pathway Events 2022 Schedule:





3 - 9 June 22

ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier


(6) Bhutan, Malaysia, Nepal, Thailand, Qatar, UAE

3 - 5 July 2022

ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup EAP Qualifier


(2) Indonesia, PNG

9 - 11 August 2022

ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier


(2) Netherlands, Scotland

September 2022

ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier


(9) Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda



Feel the buzz in the stands and see the best teams in the world play on the biggest stage of all.

More News