Ireland name new skipper for Bangladesh T20Is

Ireland news

Hit For Six!

Regular captain Andrew Balbirnie was rested from the T20 leg of the Bangladesh tour with senior opener Paul Stirling stepping in to lead the side.

Ireland are on a multi-format tour of Bangladesh with three ODIs, three T20Is and a solitary Test match.

They lost the three-game ODI series 2-0, and the T20I series is due to start from 27 March. 

For the T20Is, Cricket Ireland have named Stirling, who has been the side’s vice-captain since 2019, as the skipper. Lorcan Tucker will be his deputy. 

Stirling has captained Ireland six times in the format.

Ireland head coach Heinrich Malan explained how the temporary change was necessitated by Balbirnie’s request for a break before the upcoming Tests against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Andrew was due to take a break from the ODI series against Sri Lanka next month to concentrate on preparation for the upcoming Tests and the all-important World Cup Super League series in May,” Malan said. “With the Sri Lankan ODI series now being converted to a second Test Match, he will now be rested from this T20I series instead.

“We flagged before the tour that there may be an element of player rotation this year due to the anticipated volume of cricket we will be playing. I see it is an essential part of squad and player management that we give our leading players adequate downtime for their physical and mental health. 

“Such rotation also allows us to broaden the talent pool by enabling a wider group of players first-team opportunities.”

Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-off

Watch Highlights of Every ODI as the USA and UAE Secured a Spot in the Next Stage - FREE on


27 March, First T20I, Chattogram

29 March, Second T20I, Chattogram

31 March, Third T20I, Chattogram

4-8 April, Only Test, Dhaka

All T20Is will start at 2 PM local time. The Test will start at10 am local time.

Squad for T20Is

Paul Stirling (c), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Matthew Humphreys, Tom Mayes, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young

Squad for Test

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Murray Commins, George Dockrell, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Matthew Humphreys, Tom Mayes, Andrew McBrine, James McCollum, PJ Moor, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White.


More News