New Zealand names T20I returnee as captain for series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan

New Zealand news

Hit For Six!

New Zealand have announced their T20I squads to take on Sri Lanka at home and Pakistan in Pakistan with a few fresh faces and a number of recalls.

Tom Latham will lead the New Zealand side on his return to the T20I team after two years. The left-hander, who has been in good form in ODIs, was identified as someone who could bat anywhere and possesses a range of shots.

“We saw against India earlier this season the power and range of shots that Tom possesses," head coach Gary Stead said.

"His adaptability also means he can feature in a range of batting positions.

"He led an inexperienced T20 squad to Bangladesh in 2021 and we were really impressed with his leadership of that group during a COVID bubble tour."

The squads also have a few other returnees in Cole McConchie, Rachin Ravindra and Tim Seifert, all of whom last played a while back in this format.

Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-off

Watch Highlights of Every ODI as the USA and UAE Secured a Spot in the Next Stage - FREE on

Chad Bowes and Henry Shipley are the uncapped players in the squad. Shipley had impressed recently in the first ODI against Sri Lanka with a maiden five-wicket haul.

"We’ve got players returning and guys potentially making their debuts, that’s a really exciting mix to have in the group for these matches," Stead said.

"Players like Tim [Seifert] and Cole [McConchie] haven’t been around the squad for little while and I am sure they will bring good energy when they are involved. They have both earned their selection with strong domestic form this season."

Video ICC Review 27 Jan 23
Ricky Ponting places Babar in all-time great discussion | ICC Review

Squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: 

Tom Latham (c, wk), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Will Young

Squad for Pakistan T20Is:

Tom Latham (c, wk), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Cole McConchie, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young


More News