Cricket World Cup

India confirm 15-player squad for home World Cup campaign

Cricket World Cup

Hit For Six!

India have named a 15-player group for their home Cricket World Cup 2023 campaign.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed the squad on Tuesday, 5 September.

The 15-member squad will be led by Rohit Sharma with Hardik Pandya acting as his deputy.

In perhaps the biggest news KL Rahul has found his way into the group, deemed fit to take part ahead of their World Cup opener against Australia in Chennai on 8 October.

Video T20 World Cup 06 Nov 22
Rahul hits another half-century to complete return to form | Highlights | T20WC 2022
Batting Highlights: KL Rahul scores another fifty, this time against Zimbabwe, to complete his return to form.

Rahul injured his thigh earlier in the year at the IPL, though has been training at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru, and has cleared his fitness tests. He has left for Sri Lanka to join his India teammates ahead of their Super 4 encounter against Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

With Rahul in the squad, Sanju Samson has missed out; Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna are the other omissions.

Captain Rohit Sharma leads the batting group, with Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav all named, as well as Ishan Kishan who provides another keeping option. All-rounders Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur have also been named in an emphasis on batting options.

After showing no signs of injury upon his return, Jasprit Bumrah spearheads the bowling group, with Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj likely the first-choice pace group. Kuldeep Yadav is the side’s leading spin option.

Video Cricket World Cup 17 Jul 23
India Greatest Catches | ICC Men's CWC
India Greatest Catches | ICC Men's CWC

India 15-player squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

All the teams have until 28 September to make any changes to the squad, after which any alterations will be subject to approval from ICC.

More News