Official ICC App


Netherlands reveal squad for Cricket World Cup Qualifier


Dutch dare to dream as they announce the squad they hope will send them to the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Buoyant from winning the World Cricket League and becoming the 13th one-day international team, the Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond (KNCB) have announced their 15 man squad that will contest the World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe from March 3-27.

Ten teams will be competing for the final two spots at the Cricket World Cup that will take place in England in June 2019. Never before has 4 Full members, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland & Afghanistan, competed against Associate teams in a competition with the stakes so high.

The Netherlands will be boosted by the continuation of Ryan ten Doeschate’s international career. The decorated veteran returned to the international scene in Dubai where he played the two matches against Namibia and will again prove a massive asset for Peter Borren’s squad.

"Earning the right to be the 13th team and play in the ODI League in 2020 is massive for the Netherlands," he said.

"The effects are beginning to take hold already, but to qualify for a 10-team World Cup - that will take it to yet another level - a level that we probably didn’t dare to dream of not that long ago. Now we do. We dream big and we feel like we belong."

Again the Dutch will take a full contingent of fast bowlers with the continued emergence of Shane Snater and Viv Kingma being supported by Timm van der Gugten and Paul van Meekeren.

Dutch wicket-keeper batsman, Wesley Barresi
Dutch wicket-keeper batsman, Wesley Barresi

Head coach Ryan Campbell was also full of excitement about the upcoming tournament.

"World Cups only come around every four years and this one will be even tougher to get into with only 10 teams involved.

"I’m so excited to see how our boys will go against quality opposition. We are confident after winning in Dubai but in saying that we have also put that behind us. Now it’s about performing at a level higher than we ever have before."

The squad will fly out to Pretoria on February 10 for a pre-tour that includes matches against Ireland, Scotland and Hong Kong.

Netherlands Squad

Peter Borren (C), Wesley Barresi, Ben Cooper, Ryan ten Doeschate, Paul van Meekeren, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Scott Edwards, Roelof van der Merwe, Shane Snater, Pieter Seelaar, Timm vd Gugten, Viv Kingma, Fred Klaassen, Sikander Zulfiqar.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!