Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

South Africa women

South Africa announce women's ODI, T20I squads for Bangladesh series

South Africa Women news

Hit For Six!

Dane van Niekerk’s team will play five ODIs and three T20Is against the visitors in May.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday 24 April announced the women’s squads for the five-match ODI and three-match T20I series against Bangladesh in May.

Dane van Niekerk will lead the sides in the matches to be played across three venues in Potchefstroom, Kimberley and Bloemfontein from 4 to 20 May.

There were no changes to the ODI squad that lost the series 2-1 to India at home in February. 

Two of South Africa's Emerging players, Tazmin Brits and Stacey Lackay, were included in the T20I squad. 

The ODI series will not be a part of the ICC Women’s Championship but Hilton Moreeng, South Africa's coach, said the Bangladesh tour would play an important role in the team’s preparation for their series in England in June.

“It’s exciting to get together as a squad and to prepare for the tour coming up,” said Moreeng. “After our last tour (against India), there were a couple of skills that I wanted to see the players brush up on and sharpen up before we got back together for this tour and I’m looking forward to seeing the progress made," he said.

Dane van Niekerk (middle) will lead South Africa
Dane van Niekerk (middle) will lead South Africa

The T20I series will help the teams prepare for the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in the West Indies from 9 November.

“There’s a lot of cricket coming up this year, including a World T20, but the priority now is Bangladesh and we want to make sure that we are thoroughly prepared for them," said Moreeng. 

"The players have played a bit of cricket recently with the CSA Provincial League and the CSA Women’s Week recently concluded and it was good to see the quality of cricket that was on display. 

“The current SA Emerging Women’s triangular has also shown us that there’s a lot of exciting talent coming through and it’s really encouraging for us as coaches to see that the base is growing nicely.

“We’re also looking forward to seeing what the new faces, Tazmin Brits and Stacey Lackay, will bring to the T20 set-up. The two of them are the perfect example of hard work paying off and players putting up their hands and making opportunities count. We hope to see that same quality of play as they have shown for their domestic teams and the Emerging team, brought into the national team space,” he added.

The team will gather for a pre-tour camp at the CSA Centre of Excellence in Pretoria from 27 April.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh have announced a 16-strong tour party to take on South Africa which will depart on 28 April ahead of a warm-up fixture in Potchefstroom on 2 May. 

Rumana Ahmed has been named captain for the 50-over series, while Salma Khatun will lead the T20I team. 

South Africa ODI squad: Dané van Niekerk (cap), Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Mignon du Preez, Trisha Chetty, Marizanne Kapp, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Suné Luus, Laura Wolvaardt, Andrie Steyn, Zintle Mali

South Africa T20I squad: Dané van Niekerk (cap), Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Suné Luus, Laura Wolvaardt, Zintle Mali, Stacey Lackay, Tazmin Brits

Bangladesh ODI and T20I squad: Rumana Ahmed (cap for ODI series), Salma Khatun (cap for T20I series), Nigar Sultana Joty, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Fahima Khatun, Jannatul Ferdous Sumona, Shamima Sultana, Nahida Akter, Panna Ghosh, Suraya Azmim, Sanjida Islam, Sharmin Sultana, Sobhana Mostary, Murshida Khatun, Jahanara Alam

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!