Official ICC App

NZ Women

Four new players included in White Ferns contract list

New Zealand Women news

Jess Watkin, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Hayley Jensen and Kate Ebrahim are the latest New Zealand Women players to be brought into the central contracts fold.

Watkin, just 20 and already six one-day internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals old, is thought of as one for the future, and has been impressive in her few appearances so far.

The all-rounder made her international debut in Dublin in a T20I against Ireland in June this year, and scored 77* in 38 balls opening the innings. She followed that up with a 62 in the first ODI against Ireland, and though she wasn’t among the runs when New Zealand travelled to England, she did pick up a clutch of wickets with her off-spin.

'It’s awesome that I’ll now be able to train and play all year round' – Watkin
'It’s awesome that I’ll now be able to train and play all year round' – Watkin

“It really is a dream come true to be offered my first full-time professional contract,” Watkin said. “Getting a taste of international cricket in Ireland and England left me wanting more and it’s awesome that I’ll now be able to train and play all year round.”

Wicket-keeper Bezuidenhout, the 24-year-old former South Africa international, has also been a regular for the White Ferns of late, as is the case with Jensen, the 25-year-old medium pacer.

Ebrahim, meanwhile, played her first game for New Zealand since July 2015 when she turned out against Ireland in an ODI in June.

Making way for the foursome are Rachel Priest, Thamsyn Newton and Anna Peterson, who were all included last year, and Erin Bermingham, who has retired from international cricket.

The list: Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Katie Perkins, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!