Pak Women

Pakistan name squad for home series against Windies Women

Pakistan Women, news

Hit For Six!

Bismah Maroof has been named the captain of Pakistan for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 International and one-day international series, the latter a part of the Women's Championship, against the Windies.

The T20Is will be played in Karachi on 30 January, 1 and 3 February while the ODIs will be played in Dubai on 7, 9 and 11 February. Maroof has been named captain of the both the squads.

The 27-year-old has played 98 ODIs and 92 T20Is and has picked up 41 and 35 wickets, respectively, with her leg spin. She had missed Pakistan's last ODI series, against Australia in Kuala Lumpur, but returned to the squad for the ICC Women's World T20 2018 and played under the captaincy of Javeria Khan.

"It’s always a privilege to be appointed captain of your country. But to be named captain in a home series against a tough side like the West Indies, that too when international cricket is making a steady return to Pakistan, is a huge honour," said Maroof.

"We have a good side, a side that has matured and blossomed in the past few months. I am sure we will put up strong performances across both the formats."

Sana Mir, Diana Baig, Nida Dar, Nashra Sandhu and Khan some of the other players to have made to both the squads. Mir, who was named in the ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year 2018 is the No.1-ranked ODI bowler in the world.

"The T20I series against a top country like the West Indies is an opportunity for the young women cricketers as well as the parents to bring their children and help them fall in love with this game. The quality of cricket will be good and I am confident all the spectators will have a good time," said Mir.

T20I squad: Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Irum Javed, Javeria Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper), Omaima Sohail

ODI squad: Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Diana Baig, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Saba Nazir, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper), Omaima Sohail

More News