The Code & PMOA

ICC Anti-Corruption Code for Participants: The ICC Anti-Corruption Code for Participants is a comprehensive document detailing the code for the participants of the game of cricket.

ICC Minimum Standards for Players' & Match Officials' Areas (PMOA) at International Matches: The Minimum Standards for Players & Match Officials Area explains the standards that need to be met in this area in order to comply with the Anti-Corruption code.

ICC Anti-Corruption Code for Participants

All cricket matches are to be contested on a level playing-field, with the outcome to be determined solely by the respective merits of the competing teams and to remain uncertain until the cricket match is completed. This is the essential characteristic that gives sport its unique appeal. Public confidence in the authenticity and integrity of the sporting contest is therefore vital.

The ICC is committed to taking every step in its power to:

a) prevent corrupt practices undermining the integrity of the sport of cricket, including any efforts to influence improperly the outcome or any other aspect of any match; and to

b) preserve public confidence in the readiness, willingness and ability of the ICC and its Member Boards to protect the sport from such corrupt practices.

The ICC Anti-Corruption Code (the Code) provides the ICC ACU with the power to proactively and thoroughly investigate incidents of corruption in the ongoing effort to protect the integrity of the game.

The Code specifically relates to international cricket played under the auspices of the ICC and its Members and applies to all Participants; player, coach, trainer, manager, selector, team owner or official, doctor, physiotherapist, match referee, pitch curator, player agent, umpires, as well as ICC Officials. Participants are bound by the Code for 2 years after they have terminated their involvement with international cricket.

The Code sets out the rules, offences and sanctions. The maximum possible sanction for the most serious breaches of the Anti-Corruption Code is a LIFE BAN from all involvement in the game. In some countries, there is also the possibility of criminal sanctions.

In short, the offences under the ICC ACU Anti-Corruption Code relate to the following:

- Match fixing / spot fixing

- Betting on cricket

- Misuse of inside information

- Failing to report an ‘approach’ or corrupt conduct to the ICC ACU

- Failing to cooperate with, or obstructing an investigation or proceedings.

ICC ANTI-CORRUPTION CODE - amended with effect from 1 Jan 2021 [PDF]

ICC Anti-Corruption Minimum Standards for Players and Match Officials Areas (PMOA)

The ICC developed Minimum Standards for Players and Match Officials Areas (PMOA) in the early 2000s in support of the ICC’s Anti-Corruption Code. To this day they continue to protect Participants from unwanted communication from third parties and prevent issues of unintentional disclosure of inside information.

At each relevant International Match, the PMOA includes the dressing rooms used by the teams and match officials, match view areas used by teams (including dug-outs), operational rooms used by any umpire or match referee, dining areas used by teams and match officials and any other area the ICC Anti-Corruption manager determines should be included.

Key Points to remember:

- You can only enter the PMOA if you have been granted, and are wearing, PMOA accreditation.

- Express permission is required to leave the PMOA during the match from the Anti-Corruption Manager (ACM); or, where the ACM is unavailable, the relevant team manager or Match Referee (in the case of a Match Official) who must notify the ACM at the earliest opportunity.

- Communication devices are prohibited within the PMOA, barring specific exceptions. Without exception, no player shall be in possession of, or use a communication device (such as a mobile phone or a device which is connected to the internet, while in the PMOA.

- Failure to comply with PMOA regulations may result in financial penalties.

ICC Minimum Standards for Players' & Match Officials' Areas (PMOA) at International Matches - effective as from 1 December 2018 [pdf]

Full Member, Domestic Anti-Corruption Codes for Participants

The ICC Anti-Corruption Code is applicable to international cricket while the following Member Board codes are applicable to domestic cricket:

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Cricket Australia (CA) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Cricket Ireland (CI) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Cricket South Africa (CSA) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code

Cricket West Indies (CWI) Domestic Anti-Corruption Code