Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Cricket World Cup

Bangladesh pick uncapped Abu Jayed for World Cup

CWC19 news

Bangladesh have named uncapped right-arm pacer Abu Jayed in their 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019.

Jayed has played five Tests since making his debut in July 2018, but is yet to earn an ODI cap. Javed’s ability to swing the ball should make him handy, as he showed during the Tests in New Zealand, should the conditions in England provide enough assistance.

Jayed’s inclusion comes at the expense of fast bowler Taskin Ahmed, who had missed the New Zealand tour with an ankle injury. Ahmed also doesn't feature in the 17-member squad that has been announced for the tri-series against Ireland and West Indies that takes place before the World Cup.

"Taskin played his last ODI in October 2017 and it was a long break for him. When we thought about him again for the New Zealand series he sustained an injury once again. According to the reports we have, he is not fit. He represented (his domestic team) in one match but his fitness is still not up to the mark," said Minhajul Abedin, the Bangladesh chief selector. On Jayed's surprise selection, he said: "He can swing the ball and we felt that can add value to our bowling attack."

The other big inclusion was that of Mosaddek Hossain. The middle-order batsman last played for Bangladesh in the 2018 Asia Cup. However, his poor performances in the tournament led to him getting dropped for the subsequent ODI series against Zimbabwe, although Steve Rhodes, the head coach, had said at the time that Hossain continued to figure prominently in Bangladesh’s plans for the World Cup.

Hossain will provide the back-up all-rounder option, with Mahmudullah still recovering from a shoulder injury that was aggravated during the New Zealand tour. "Mossadek did well in (recent) domestic tournaments," said Abedin. "We want an all-rounder who can bowl off-spin. Mahmudullah has a shoulder injury, so he may not bowl over there (in the World Cup). As a back-up spin all-rounder, we included Mossadek."

Although the squad features plenty of young players, Bangladesh will welcome the return of their core, with Shakib Al Hasan joining fellow senior players Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, captain Mashrafe Mortaza and Mahmudullah.

Mahmudullah is still nursing a shoulder injury that was aggravated on the New Zealand tour
Mahmudullah is still nursing a shoulder injury that was aggravated on the New Zealand tour

Shakib had been through injury troubles that had kept him out of the ODI and Test series against New Zealand. He now returns to the squad as Mortaza’s deputy.

The rest of the squad is filled with young blood. Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar and Jayed are all aged 25 or younger.

In addition to the 15 travelling for the World Cup, Bangladesh have also picked uncapped players Nayeem Hasan and Yasir Ali for the tri-series in Ireland. Hasan made his Test debut late last year, but like Jayed, is uncapped at the ODI level. He was in the squad for the one-day internationals against New Zealand, but didn’t get a game. Ali, on the other hand, hasn’t played international cricket yet.

Video cwc19 31 Mar 19
CWC Greatest Moments - Bangladesh knock out England in 2015

Bangladesh face Ireland and West Indies in a tri-series in Dublin, starting on 5 May and running for two weeks. They kick off their World Cup campaign on 2 June, against South Africa at the Oval.

Squad for World Cup: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed

Squad for tri-nation series: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed, Nayeem Hasan, Yasir Ali

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!