Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!


Dhoni left out of West Indies tour, Saha makes Test return

India news

MS Dhoni was not a part of India’s limited-overs squads, but there was a Test return for Wriddhiman Saha as the BCCI announced the contingent heading to the West Indies for a full tour, starting on 3 August.

Rishabh Pant will be the only specialist wicket-keeper in the limited-overs squads, while he will be joined in the Test squad by Saha, who last played in January 2018. MSK Prasad, the chief selector, revealed that Dhoni had made himself “unavailable” for the tour.

The selectors also opted to rest Jasprit Bumrah, the star paceman, for the limited-overs leg of the tournament. But he will link up with the squad in time for the Tests. Hardik Pandya, the all-rounder, has been rested for the whole tour.

Video cwc19 06 Jul 19
CWC19: Mahendra Singh Dhoni's legacy

R Ashwin was another player to return to the Test squad, having missed three Tests in Australia with a side-strain. He will join Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav as the specialist spinners for the two-match series.

In the limited-overs squads, the uncapped fast bowler Navdeep Saini was called up to both the ODI and T20I squads, while fellow quick Deepak Chahar found a place in the T20I squad. All of Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer and Khaleel Ahmed have also returned to the ODI side.

Shikhar Dhawan, who left the squad midway through the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 with a thumb injury, has returned after recovering fully, while Dinesh Karthik, the wicket-keeper batsman, has been omitted altogether. Vijay Shankar, who was also forced to return home from the World Cup with a toe injury, doesn't feature in any of the squads.

India will begin their tour in Lauderhill, Florida on 3 August, with the first two of three T20Is being played in the USA. The teams will also clash in three ODIs and two Tests in the Caribbean.


Test squad: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk) Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

T20I squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!