Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Deandra Dottin

Dottin wins big at West Indies awards

West Indies news

Deandra Dottin took home the honours for Women's ODI Player of the Year as well as the Women's T20I Player of the Year in the seventh annual CWI/WIPA Awards.

Dottin averaged 41.4 in ODIs with a high score of 96 in the period under consideration, while also taking 15 wickets. In T20Is, she was a star during their T20 World Cup campaign at home, growing into her own as an opener while also taking a remarkable 5/5 against Bangladesh. She was also in fine form in the series against Pakistan, smashing 90* off 60 balls in the opening match of that series, reaching No.1 on the MRF Tyres ICC Women's T20I Rankings for All-rounders in February this year.

She won the T20I award for the second year in a row.

Jason Holder, Shai Hope and Keemo Paul were the big winners in the men's categories, in a ceremony on Monday, 19 August. Holder, the Test and ODI captain, was declared Men's Test Player of the Year, following stellar figures with bat and ball in series against Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and England. He averaged 51.36 in the period, even bringing up a double-hundred at Bridgetown against England, and took 40 wickets at an impressive 13.34. He is currently No.1 on the MRF Tyres ICC Test Rankings for All-Rounders.

Hope, who had swept the awards the previous year, was recognised in ODIs, where he was the top run-scorer for the team, bringing up hundreds against India and Bangladesh. Keemo Paul, the 21-year-old pacer, took the honours in T20Is for his impressive debut year.

Oshane Thomas won for Emerging Player of the Year, while Rahkeem Cornwall, who has been rewarded with a Test call-up for the India series, was recognised as West Indies Championship Player of the Year.  

The winners were chosen by a panel of former cricketers and West Indies selectors. Performances between April 2018 and March 2019 were taken into account.

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!