Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Pakistan women

Pakistan announce ODI, T20I squads for England series

Women's news

Pakistan have announced their ODI and T20I squads for their upcoming ICC Women’s Championship matches against England in Malaysia, beginning on 9 December.

Former captain Sana Mir, who took a break from international cricket last week, is one of four exclusions from the ODI squad that played Bangladesh last month, along with Iram Javed, Sadia Iqbal and Kaynat Imtiaz.

The 15-member squad features two uncapped players in 23-year-old batter Kaynat Hafeez, as well as off-spinner Rameen Shamim, who led Pakistan in the ACC Women’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup in October. Also included are Anam Amin and Nida Dar; Amin played her last ODI in October 2018, while Dar played the last of her 71 ODIs in May this year, after which she was part of the Women’s Big Bash League for Sydney Thunder.

In the T20I team, 15-year-old leg-spinner Aroob Shah earned a call up, having picked up two wickets on her ODI debut against Bangladesh. Rameen, who led the Emerging side, marked a return to the T20I team as well, along with teammate Fatima Sana. Dar also returns to the T20I side.

The three-match ODI series will be held from 9 December to 14 December, following which the teams will clash in as many T20Is, from 17 December to 20 December. 

Urooj Mumtaz, chair of the women's selection committee, is confident that the squads will be able to continue Pakistan's successful showing against Bangladesh, where they won the T20Is 3-0 and levelled the ODI series 1-1.

“The two squads have been put together after considering recent performances in international and domestic events," she was quoted as saying by a press release. "A series against a quality side like England always brings challenges and we have put together these combinations keeping that in mind.

ODI squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Aroob Shah, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Javeria Khan, Kaynat Hafeez, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Rameen Shamim, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz

T20I squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Aroob Shah, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Iram Javed, Javeria Khan, Nahida Khan, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Rameen Shamim, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Nawaz

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!