Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Zimbabwe U19 gather in a huddle before their first warm-up match against New Zealand.
U19 Cricket World Cup

Dion Myers to lead Zimbabwe U19 in youth World Cup

Zimbabwe, U19CWC, news

Doin Myers, who participated in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018 in New Zealand, will be back for the 2020 edition of the tournament as captain of Zimbabwe U19.

All-rounder Myers is not the only experienced player in the squad: His deputy Wesley Madhevere, also an all-rounder, will feature in his third U19 World Cup, having made his tournament debut as a 15-year-old back in 2016 in Bangladesh, while top-order batsman Milton Shumba was also a part of the squad last time.

Madhevere finished the last edition on a high; he slammed 93 at the top of the order and picked up four wickets with his off-spin against Canada to guide his side to a 138-run win in the 11th place play-off. 

Video cwc19 13 Jan 18
U19CWC Zim v PNG: Wesley Madhevere catch

Zimbabwe also have in their line-up a left-arm wrist spinner in Tadiwanashe Nyangani, and Brandon James, the son of former Zimbabwe international cricketer Wayne James.

The team will be coached by former captain Prosper Utseya.

The 16-team competition will be in South Africa from 17 January to 9 February. Zimbabwe are in Group C, along with Bangladesh, Pakistan and Scotland. They open their campaign against Bangladesh in Potchefstroom on 18 January.

The squad: Dion Myers (c), Wesley Madhevere (vc), Emmanuel Bawa, Privilege Chesa, Gareth Chirawu, Ahomed Rameez Ebrahim, Dylan Grant, Brandon James, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Tadiwanashe Nyangani, Luke Oldknow, Samuel Ruwisi, Dane Schadendorf, Milton Shumba, Taurayi Tugwete

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!