Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Women’s squads confirmed for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014

Defending champion Australia to be led by 21-year-old Meg Lanning as it aims for a hat-trick of titles

Last edition’s Player of the Tournament Charlotte Edwards to skipper 2012 finalist England

Host Bangladesh to be led by Salma Khatun as it makes a historic first appearance

With just two weeks to go to the start of the women’s event at the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, all ten squads have now been confirmed, as the best players in the world prepare hard for the big competition.

Meg Lanning, the 21-year-old top-order batter from Victoria, will lead defending champion Australia’s quest for a historic hat-trick of titles following its wins in the West Indies in 2010 and in Sri Lanka in 2012.

Wicketkeeper-batter Jodie Fields, who was in charge of the country at the last edition in 2012, is not a part of the squad this time around after recently struggling to overcome a finger injury. Alex Blackwell, who was the captain of the victorious Australia team in 2010 and the vice-captain in 2012, features again in the 2014 squad as Lanning’s deputy.

Australia’s squad features seven players that didn’t feature the last time around, in Nicole Bolton, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney and Elyse Villani. Eight members of its squad for this edition – Lanning, Blackwell, Jess Cameron, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Erin Osborne and Ellyse Perry – featured in the final at Colombo’s R Premadasa Stadium in 2012.

Opener Charlotte Edwards, who was the Player of the Tournament two years ago with 172 runs from five matches at an average of 43, is at the helm for 2012 finalist England. Jenny Gunn is the vice-captain.

Apart from Edwards, who also led her nation in 2012, the other squad-members that featured in the final in 2012 are Lydia Greenway, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Anya Shrubsole and Sarah Taylor.

Edwards led England to the title at home in 2009. The other members of the 2014 squad that also featured in the final against New Zealand at Lord’s in the inaugural edition of the tournament include Greenway, Gunn and Taylor.

Two-time runner-up New Zealand, which made it to the title-round in 2009 and 2010, will again be led by Suzie Bates, just as it was in 2012. Nicola Browne, who was the Player of the Tournament in the West Indies in 2010 after picking up nine wickets at an average of just 8.55 and scoring 79 runs at 26.33, is also in the mix. Sophie Devine is the vice-captain.

The West Indies, which reached the semi-finals in 2012, will be led for the fourth consecutive time in this tournament by wicketkeeper-batter Merissa Aguilleira. 

India and Pakistan will be led by experienced campaigners Mithali Raj and Sana Mir, respectively. Pakistan’s squad features Bismah Maroof, who was the Player of the Tournament at the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier Ireland 2013.

Salma Khatun will make history as the first woman to captain Bangladesh in the women’s event of the ICC World Twenty20, as her nation makes its debut.

The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2014 has been increased from eight to 10 teams after an ICC Board decision last year. The 10 sides have been divided into two Groups, which are:

Group A – Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Ireland

Group B – England, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh

The first-round matches of the women’s event will take place in Sylhet from 23 March to 2 April, with the top two sides from each Group progressing to the semi-finals.

Australia will kick off its campaign on Sunday 23 March against New Zealand. This game will be followed by the match between South Africa and Pakistan, which, along with Sri Lanka, qualified for the Bangladesh event after having reached the final of the qualifying tournament held in Dublin in August 2013 and emerged the joint winner there.

Host Bangladesh will make its maiden appearance on the world stage on 26 March, when it will play the West Indies, while England will start its campaign on 24 March, also against the West Indies.

The prize money for the women’s event will be US$180,000, with the winner collecting US$65,000 and the losing finalist getting US$25,000.

Women’s squads

Australia: Meg Lanning (captain), Alex Blackwell, Nicole Bolton, Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Elyse Villani

Bangladesh: Salma Khatun (captain), Ayasha Rahman, Fahima Khatun, Fargana Hoque, Jahanara Alam, Khadija Tul Kubra, Lata Mondal, Nuzhat Tasnia, Panna Ghosh, Rumana Ahmed, Sanjida Islam, Shaila Sharmin, Shamima Sultana, Sharmin Akhter, Shohaly Akther

England: Charlotte Edwards (captain), Tammy Beaumont, Kate Cross, Jodie Dibble, Georgia Elwiss, Lydia Greenway, Rebecca Grundy, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Heather Knight, Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Fran Wilson

India: Mithali Raj (captain), Soniya Dabir, Archana Das, Jhulan Goswami, Karu Jain, Harmanpreet Kaur, Latika Kumari, Smriti Mandhana, Madhuri Mehta, Sravanthi Naidu, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Raut, Shubhlakshmi Sharma, Gouher Sultana, Poonam Yadav

Ireland: Isobel Joyce (captain), Laura Delany, Emma Flanagan, Jennifer Gray, Cecilia Joyce, Amy Kenealy, Louise McCarthy, Kate McKenna, Lucy O’Reilly, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Rolfe, Melissa Scott-Hayward, Clare Shillington, Elena Tice, Mary Waldron

New Zealand: Suzie Bates (captain), Nicola Browne, Sam Curtis, Sophie Devine, Maddie Green, Georgia Guy, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Felicity Leydon-Davis, Sara McGlashan, Frances Mackay, Katey Martin, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Rachel Priest

Pakistan: Sana Mir (captain), Anam Amin, Asmavia Iqbal, Batool Fatima, Bismah Maroof, Javeria Khan, Marina Iqbal, Nahida Khan, Nain Abidi, Nida Dar, Qanita Jalil, Sadia Yousuf, Sania Khan, Sidra Ameen, Sumaiya Siddiqi

South Africa: Mignon du Preez (captain), Trisha Chetty, Moseline Daniels, Shandre Fritz, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Marcia Letsoalo, Sunette Loubser, Sune Luus, Nadine Moodley, Andrie Steyn, Chloe Tryon, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk

Sri Lanka: Shashikala Siriwardene (captain), Chamari Atapattu, Nilakshi de Silva, Chandima Gunaratne, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Chamari Polgampola, Yasoda Mendis, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Inoka Ranaweera, Deepika Rasangika, Maduri Samuddika, Rebeca Vandort, Sripali Weerakkody

West Indies: Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Chinelle Henry, Stacy-Ann King, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean, Anisa Mohammed, Subrina Munroe, Shaquana Quintyne, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt, Stafanie Taylor

More News

Live Cricket

ICC on Social