Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!


Chibhabha named Zimbabwe captain as Muzarabani returns for Pakistan tour

Zimbabwe news

Blessing Muzarabani, who had put his international career on hold, has been named in Zimbabwe's 20-man squad, led by Chamu Chibhabha, for their tour of Pakistan later this month.

Muzarabani, who had signed a Kolpak deal in 2018 with Northamptonshire, decided to return to the international fold after he was released from the contract.

The 6'6" fast bowler's presence will provide a valuable boost to Zimbabwe's squad, which will be missing the experienced Kyle Jarvis, who has been ruled out with a stress fracture.

Muzarabani, who debuted in 2017, has featured in one Test, 18 ODIs and six T20Is, picking up 27 wickets.

Two uncapped players have also been added to the squad: 19-year-old left-hand batsman Milton Shumba and 27-year-old paceman Faraz Akram.

Zimbabwe are scheduled to play three ODIs and as many T20Is on the tour, beginning 30 October. The ODI series will be a part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League and will be played in Rawalpindi, while the T20Is will be played in Lahore.

This will be Chamu Chibhabha's first international assignment as full-time captain. Sean Williams was the captain during Zimbabwe's last international assignment – a tour of Bangladesh earlier this year. Chibhabha made his captaincy debut on that tour, taking over the duties with Williams sitting out, but has now been given the job full-time.


ODIs: 30 Oct, 1 Nov, 3 Nov

T20Is: 7 Nov, 8 Nov, 10 Nov

Squad: Chamu Chibhabha (c), Faraz Akram, Ryan Burl, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Richmond Mutumbami, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Sean Williams

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!