Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

World Test Championship

Maiden call-ups for Baartman, Dupavillon as South Africa name squad for Pakistan Tests

Pak v SA, news

South Africa will receive a boost as Kagiso Rabada and Dwaine Pretorius return after recovering from injuries, while the spin attack is strengthened by the inclusion of Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde.

As many as five members of the 21-member squad could make their Test debuts in Pakistan, with seamers Ottniel Baartman and Daryn Dupavillon recieving their maiden call-ups in the format. Batsmen Sarel Erwee and Keegan Petersen are both yet to make their Proteas debuts in any format, while Kyle Verreyne has only appeared in ODIs to date. Tabraiz Shamsi's inclusion means he could make his first red-ball appearance for South Africa since 2018.

Quinton de Kock's side are buoyed by their recent 2-0 series win over Sri Lanka, which gave them 120 points in the ICC World Test Championship, and will be looking to continue that success on their first visit to Pakistan in 14 years where they will play two Tests.

Rabada missed both Tests against Sri Lanka due to a groin injury and his return to full fitness will provide some welcome experience to lead the attack. Pretorius too has been cleared to play after recovering from a hamstring strain.

Convener of Selectors Victor Mpitsang was cautious about the alien nature of conditions in Pakistan to the squad, but remained confident that they possessed enough depth in key areas.

Mpitsang said: "Considering that the conditions that will be faced are largely unknown to the South African team, we wanted to strengthen the attack with the skill sets that Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde have to offer, while giving players like Daryn Dupavillon and Ottneil Baartman an opportunity after making strong cases for themselves in recent seasons."

Test squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Ottniel Baartman

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!