Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Mohammad Wasim has been named in Pakistan's squad to take on New Zealand

Uncapped quartet named in Pakistan squad to take on New Zealand

Pak vs NZ

Hit For Six!

Pakistan have named a 20-strong squad for their upcoming series against New Zealand, with a trio of exciting youngsters and a domestic veteran in contention for their ODI debuts.

Fast bowlers Mohammad Wasim Jr and Shahnawaz Dahani, wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris and legspinner Zahid Mahmood will all be hoping to make their ODI debuts in the three-match series, which begins on 17 September.

The three matches are all part of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League.

Wasim Jr, 20 years old, made his T20I debut during Pakistan's recent tour of the West Indies, taking two wickets across the four matches.

Dahani, 23 years old, only made his List A and T20 debuts in 2021. He impressed in the recent Pakistan Super League, taking 20 wickets at 17, and shone in the domestic one-day competition (19 wickets at 24.89).

Haris, 20 years old, has been selected as the squad's backup keeper behind Mohammad Rizwan. He impressed in Pakistan's domestic one-day tournament, making 289 runs at an average of 41.28.

Thirty-three years old, Mahmood is the oldest of the four uncapped players.

On the other side of the coin, Haris Sohail, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Sohaib Maqsood have all been left out after being a part of the squad that was whitewashed 3-0 by England in July.

Pakistan ODI squad:

Babar Azam (c) - Abdullah Shafique - Faheem Ashraf Fakhar Zaman - Haris Rauf - Hasan Ali - Iftikhar Ahmed Imam-ul-Haq - Khushdil Shah - Mohammad Haris  Mohammad Hasnain - Mohammad Nawaz - Mohammad Rizwan  Mohammad Wasim Jnr - Saud Shakeel - Shadab Khan  Shaheen Shah Afridi - Shahnawaz Dahani - Usman Qadir  Zahid Mahmood


17th September - 1st ODI at Rawalpindi
19th September - 2nd ODI at Rawalpindi
21st September - 3rd ODI at Rawalpindi

More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!